Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel close to malls and Universities.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable and centrally located.
Location: There is the mall and the universities are next door.
My experience with the hotel was nice. I found the room to be quite big for a single room. There was enough space for me to move around and for my small hand luggage. What I did not like was how the room had the curtains open and directly facing the window was the toilet with a see through door. This planning was a bit ridiculous. There is also a very ugly view in the single rooms, so it was just better to keep the curtains closed. Also, I did not understand why the receptionist did not give me the password for the internet when I checked in. Other than that, the hotel was comfortable and they had great toiletries in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hull

Sleepless night

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Had a terrible night due to noise from a neighboring room. Walls were too thin; could hear their TV and voices. Bed was not comfortable but just a solid rigid platform. Rang reception but this did not resolve the noise. I usually book with Premier Inn but regretted not doing so this time. The facilities are rated four star but I believe this is too generous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Clean, tidy and in a good location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The hotel is in the actual University grounds, but it is it's own building and within only a 10min walk from the Train Station. In fact, you'll be in the heart of Birmingham's high streets within 3 mins of the place. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Would happily recommend and return in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from somerset

Near centre for velobirmingham

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Reception unable to cope with arrivals. Parking near hotel impossible. Told by reception I should have a parking voucher but no mention on booking. Thought I had booked breakfast too but not so. Hotel obviously a converted student block.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

IF you have to stay on the Campus

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Free Wi-Fi, coffee stations, location on campus
Cons: Mattress are very basic and not so comfortable (old foamy thin ones) as well as pillows (thin, not so comfortable). More variety for the breakfast.
Location: On Campus of Aston University. 10 minutes walk from City Center. Taxis around the corner. Parking available.
This is a basic hotel, very convenient if you want to stay on campus. Have a nice coffee station with capuccino machine and some fruits/small snacks for free. Tends to be trendy for the decoration and atmosphere. REstaurant is offering a breakfast that is ok (we miss cheese however) but very basic as well. Room are outdated, not so comfortable, heating is not constant and either it is too hot or too cold. This looks like student's room transformed into hotel rooms. Hotel Latour nearby may be a better alternative if you want to upgrade your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Student like accommodation, convenient if just for a conference in campus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

convenient

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: near the train station. Rooms clean and tidy. Staff very polite
Cons: wifi was broken
Location: Shopping
good place to stay after a day exploring Birmingham
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Nice enough hotel and fair value.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The hotel was nice enough and for the price paid, we would stay again. About 15min walk to city centre area. My only issue is that the information on expedia for parking was lacking. Contact the hotel directly to pre-book parking and get directions to their nearby site before travel as the entire area immediately outside is no parking* and the car park, whilst close, has a different access route which is not explained sufficiently on expedia. * I was caught out by this and had to briefly park in a no park zone outside the hotel as I popped in to the hotel to get directions. If I am fined (as the signs suggest could happen) then I will be complaining to expedia as they should make this clearer.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good room size

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The room was ok but couldn't open the windows much to refresh. We checked in on a Saturday night quite late as we arrived late in Birmingham, and there were plenty of party students around and in the hotel. Smelled weed all over the corridors and lifts, my little niece was scared because of their behaviour and being loud. They continued their party in a room close to ours for hours and reception would not do a thing. As a plus though, free private parking and good size room and bathroom.
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels