Ratings based on 1,241 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melton Mowbray

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Value for money, good rooms and plenty of choice for breakfast (help yourself buffet style)
Cons: Okay as it is
Location: Well located in centre of Birmingham near entertainment venue's and pubs restaurant's etc. Canal area very close ideal for walking.
Overnight stay for a show, ideal location (for Symphony Hall ICC etc.) Attentive well mannered staff made you feel welcome. Lot of building work going on around the hotel but didn't affect our stay, but depending on the level of work it no doubt could.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Nice hotel, close to the city.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Menu for bar meals. Reception staff to introduce the layout of the hotel to guests on arrival.
Stayed for two nights. 10 minutes walking distance to the city. Room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The bar menu was very limited if you didnt want eat in the Chinese restaurant. There was alot of variety for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

Central to city centre

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms friendly staff lovely size rooms
Cons: Only one thing I booked 2double rooms we went with friends and their television did not work had to be reported twice .
Location: Perfect location in city centre.
All good cannot fault hotel warm comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for the ICC

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Cost
Location: ICC and Broad St
Perfect for the ICC and Broad St, Hotel is the cheapest in the area. Decore is a little tired and worn but functional and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Convenient location at a fair price

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Arrived by train but parking available if needed at a decent cost. Friendly check in staff. Good central location. Lots of construction work going on outside but this was not intrusive at all. Hotel was tired and a little shabby in places but very clean. Bed comfy with nice soft bedding. Breakfast was tasty with lots of choice. All in all, worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, UK

Great Hotel Right in The Centre Of Town

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Lovely breakfast in the morning, very friendly staff and comfortable room.
Cons: Hot tap in the bathroom was tricky to use and room at night was very warm. I was sweltering.
Location: Right in the centre of town, very close to everywhere including the convention centre which suited me down the ground. Especially since it was raining
Exactly what I wanted, an affordable night's stay close to the convention centre. It was entirely fine, the room was well appointed with iron, ironing board, hair dryer, desk, letter-headed paper, envelopes, phone, trouser press, television and a tea making facility. The bed was very comfortable and the windows had an extra window in front of them to block out the sound of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city

Posted Jan 27, 2017
6th stay at this hotel in 18 months Except for building work noise and tv not working have not a problem Breakfast very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashbourne

Ideal location for Broad Street, Symphony Hall etc

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Good location and friendly staff.
Cons: N/A
Location: Perfect for Broad Street and Brindley Place.
Clean room and friendly staff. Price and location spot on!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quality in adversity!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Staff were very professional. Room and bed very comfortable. Breakfast also very good.
Cons: Access is a problem just now due to the surrounding redevelopment. More obvious pedestrian signage might help.
Location: Great location right in the middle of Birmingham city centre. Very good for Symphony Hall, ICC, Town Hall and Museum and Art Gallery and all shops.
The Copthorne is currently trying their darnedest to maintain standards whilst being surrounded by the massive redevelopment currently ongoing in the centre of Birmingham.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dudley

Overpriced

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Hello Shahida I have been advised to contact yourself with regards, regrettably, to a complaint about mine and my partners recent stay at The Copthorne Hotel, Paradise Circus. My partner made the booking for Friday 9 and Saturday 10 December as we had a wedding to attend on Saturday nearby. We had previously made a booking at another hotel at a much lesser cost but my partner decided that as we do not get the chance to spend time away together very often that he would, having heard good reviews, book the Copthorne at a cost of £265 (room only) for the two nights. Needless to say we were both looking forward to our stay. Upon arrival we were greeted promptly by a young lady who whilst trying to book us in was distracted by a male colleague who stood extremely closely behind her and was whispering and giggling into her ear. I felt this was very inappropriate and indeed i think the young lady did too as she apologised once he had left saying "sorry about that" whilst nervously giggling. The room, although clean, we felt was a little outdated. There were tiles in the bathroom that were cracked, wallpaper peeling off the wall and holes in the shower curtain. The shower itself had no pressure and it was quite difficult to wash the shampoo out of my hair. The bed, again very clean, was uncomfortable as it dipped in the middle. The central heating pipes were extremely noisey throughout the night and made a dripping sound which kept us both awake throughout friday evening. The