Ratings based on 1,125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hannover

Zentrales Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Das Hotelpersonal war sehr freundlich und hat bei Fragen und Problem immer schnell geholfen.
Cons: Die Badezimmer könnten eine Renovierung gebrauchen
Location: Das Hotel ist sehr zentral und ermöglicht eine schnelle Erkundung der Stadt
Wir haben das Hotel für ein langes Wochenende in Birmingham genutzt. Leider haben wir es nicht geschaft, hoteleigene Angebote zu nutzen. Aktuell wird um das Hotel sehr viel gebaut, sodass der Zugang etwas aufwendiger ist.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South West London

Hotel on demolition site

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Hotel very nicely located for pedestrian access to Bullring, museum and other places of interest. However getting to hotel by car is a nightmare. Due to the demolition and reconstruction of Birmingham city centre it was actually difficult to navigate to hotel. When actually finding the hotel the staff were pleasant and friendly. The room and ensuite was adequate and clean. However the gym equipment could do with an overall. In fact I was told when checking out that the hotel was going to be demolished in the very near future. Nevertheless if you can take the dust and grime immediately outside hotel not bad if you want to walk to shopping areas and spend a couple of nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Needed a hotel for a one night stay in Birmingham and chose the Copthorne as it was handiest for the station of those on offer in my price range. A very pleasant surprise. The staff were helpful and welcoming, the facilities and the room were of a high standard, and the breakfast was good and reasonably priced (bought the night before). The main problem is not with the hotel but with the amount of building work going on around it, which made satnav useless and access difficult. Although there are plenty of signs the route seems very circuitous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ouderwets hotel, goede kamer, slechte services

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Kamer, personeel.
Cons: Gratis wifi. Pc voor hotelgasten. Wake up calls niet vergeten. Melding maken op website van bouwwerkzaamheden rondom hotel.
Location: Een grote bouwput, het hele stadscentrum ligt op de schop.
Plussen: op zich goede locatie (10 min lopen van groot treinstation New Street en van de Bullring shopping centre) , ruime en schone kamer. Vriendelijke personeel. Minnen: geen gratis wifi (kost 5 UK Pounds per dag!) en geen pc voor hotelgasten! Omdat ik nog voor mijn retourvlucht moest inchecken was dat lastig en ik kan me echt niet herinneren dat ik ooit in een hotel gelogeerd heb dat geen pc voor hotelgasten beschikbaar had. Ook: ik had voor de 3 dagen dat ik er logeerde wake-up calls gevraagd, de laatste dag is men die vergeten waardoor ik 3 kwartier te laat was. Verder ligt de directe omgeving van het hotel overhoop ivm een enorm vernieuwingsproject van de binnenstad. De bouwwerkzaamheden gaan ook in het weekend door. Het hotel is per auto praktisch onbereikbaar, lopend vanaf New Street treinstation wordt alles goed met borden aangegeven. Al met al een wisselende ervaring en ivm geen gratis (wel dure) wifi en geen pc neem ik de volgende keer een ander hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in the middle of road wrks

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The access to the hotel by car was very difficult almost impossible due to the heavy road works being carried out all arount the hotel. Even on foot it was complicated due to oatheays being closed. I was very dissapointed and suprised to learn there was no free wifi, it is being charged at £5 a day! There was also no guest computer. The hotel generally was clean but has a dated feel. The TV in my room didn't work and part of the ceiling as hanging down! The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Value hotel near city centre

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Cons: Needs some TLC and better airflow throughout. Bathroom was very tired and toilet seat was kept coming off.
Location: Ideally located for the city centre, everything is within walking distance.
Having lived in Birmingham, I had heard many good experiences of the Copthorne so was disappointed to find it in the condition it is now, which is generally quite tired and in desperate need of a refurb. Very friendly staff and a large room, but no air con and the room and hallways were very hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Coprhorne should be a 3 star.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Copthorne is in a good location despite the major works around the immediate land of he hotel. Price was reasonable but room clearly in need of a refurb. Perhaps it is being updated as we speak. No AC in 2016 in a four star? My guests were from Dallas and didn't have a great experience because of this. Tired and dated fixtures and fittings make this a hotel with potential but not one I would give repeat custom to until there is significant investment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Middle of the construction site, no free WiFi

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Was originally placed in the room opening right into the construction site that was hard to stay (or sleep) in even outside of work hours due to persistent buzzing. But the staff moved me to another room after complaining with no problem. No free WiFi, no minibar and no free parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Nice hotel very near train station

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Clean tidy comfortable location to city centre
Cons: Food and the chef
The staff were friendly and helpful ,the room I had was excellent although the general decor and en suite was a little tired. I was attending an army reunion and decided to dine in the hotel, for me this was the biggest disappointment I ordered steak the quality of the meat was so poor I couldn't chew it it was full of gristle I had no choice but to send it back and I didn't want another one a few of my friends were also not happy with their meals either.It was a shame because we were only there for the one night. We are already planning to book for the same weekend next year but hopefully you may have a new chef by then but we will not be using the restaurant on that visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire

Graduatuon ceremkny

Posted Jul 23, 2016
This is in a great location. However it is a little dated and tired looking. Also with the major building renovations taking place around the area it was horrendous to try and find the entrance. In the end we gave up! Parked somewhere else and ordered a taxi to drop us at the hotel. Would of been helpful to of known of the building works before booking.