Ratings based on 1,434 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, Essex

Great location

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The location of this hotel is very good for shopping, arena, and brindley place. Just beware of development site nearby and lack of signs when driving, Staff great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Very central

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I thought the Breakfast was very poor but apart from that every thing was ok
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Hotel in a building site.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Car parking WHY charge,also breakfast extra.
Location: Best bit is ease to Broad St. for choice of Indian restaurants.
Early morning rise due to builders.Breakfast quite good.Room tired needs tlc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Central Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgrade needed and breakfast poor quality
Location: Central for eating and for concerts etc
Hotel in need of upgrade but clean with helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs refurbishment

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Old hotel Needs to be refurbished Carpet needs to be changed Lift needs to be fixed Bed was very comfortable and pillows were excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton

Good location for theatres and dining

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: lounge/ bar area
Cons: Bedrooms
Location: great location
hotel needs to be refurbished, bedrooms in particular are shabby they need totally revamping. Stayed here before wont stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Great location for concert. Room spacious and clean but would benefit from refurbished.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay 2 October 2017

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Convenient location and clean
Cons: Decor dated, hotel could do with a 'facelift' and some members of the reception staff could certainly benefit from some customer service training!
Convenient location. However, the hotel could do with a 'facelift' decor is dated and the the hotel generally looks shabby. The room too, was dated but clean and the bed was comfortable. I checked in late 10 p.m I found the receptionist extremely unwelcoming on arrival and when I arrived in my room the safety window was open and i had a problem closing it. The room I had been given was a the front of the hotel on the first floor right on a busy main road. I had to go back down to reception to ask if someone could come and help close the window. Yet again the receptionist, wasn't the most helpful and I found her quite rude. She asked had a I tried to close it a certain way and I said I had and that I needed it closed due to the traffic noise. She then preceded to tell me it wasn't noisy!!! but she would come up. When she came up, it was quite obvious how put out she was and there was a total lack of customer service. The young gentleman who checked me out in the morning was 100% better, welcoming, helpful, with a smile!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very poor too many faults to list. Won't be using again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Simon Doyle (GM), Hotel Management
Dear Paul, I'm sorry the hotel failed to meet your expectations. We are hoping to be part of the regeneration of the immediate area in the coming years. Kind Regards Simon Doyle General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average, dated hotel next to a building site.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
If you don't pay very much, this hotel would be fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Simon Doyle (GM), Hotel Management
Dear Anon, Thanks for the review. We are extremely well priced but this is reflective of the building work surrounding the hotel. Kind Regards Simon Doyle General Manager