Ratings based on 1,127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dadeville AL

Pleasant hotel near restaurants/UAB medicalcenter

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The price, the location and once I got there, I really liked the room.
Cons: The friendliness of the staff. Not that I expect to become best friends with the folks , but as a customer-guest, I expect to feel welcome.
Location: Located off I-65, there are plenty of restaurants ranging from fast food to the usual chain restaurants nearby. Close to downtown.
Clean, comfortable room---a king suite at a very good price. The sitting area had a love seat, arm chair, coffee table and desk. The television swivels so that it could be seen from either the sitting area or the bedroom area. The hotel staff was not exactly rude, but not welcoming either. I had to wait at the front desk at check-in for a clerk to notice I was there. The woman who was running the breakfast area the next morning was taciturn. The maids, however, were pleasant and went out of their way to say hello or good morning as they went about their work. They also inquired if there was anything we might need. Breakfast was the usual stuff---waffles, pre-made omelettes with toppings, cereal, yogurt. As a hot tea drinker, I look forward to the hot water dispenser being hot enough to steep my tea. This one was so tepid, I ended up going to my room to microwave some water in order to get it hot enough because the breakfast room attendant was completely unconcerned when I asked for really hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Samford University

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Nice hotel convenient to Samford University, shopping and dining. Our room was clean and nicely updated. Staff was friendly. Good continential breakfast. Nice workout room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairhope, al

comfortable experience

Posted Jan 25, 2016
We went to the area to tour UAB's campus. Nice and quite place to rest. Near restaurants and close to the campus. We will stay there again. Only thing I would change is there was no list of tv channels in the room nor is there a guide channel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Alabama

Wildwood

Posted Jan 18, 2016
It was great! The staff recognized me as well. I'll be going back very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, and great staff
Cons: N/A
Location: Great location , close to great restaurants and walmart
No Disappointments !!! Great Room, and location....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was excellent

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Very comfortable and everything great Clean and only problem was door just had to lift up on handle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Walton Beach, FL

Very clean and comfortable.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Very nice hotel, especially for the cost. Very clean and comfy bed. Clean carpet and bathroom. Pillows could use a little help...go flat. Very nicely remodeled. Breakfast could use alot of help...very bland and not many choices of the hot food. It was nice to be able to bring breakfast back to our room, since my husband had surgery the day before at UAB. (Hence the reason for the trip.) Overall, good place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price was good

Posted Dec 18, 2015
The price www as extremely competitive. The hotel is pretty new so id stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Convenient to my Dr.

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Friendliness of staff and working telephones
Location: Great location - Walmart. Sam's, many restaurants, etc.
My main complaint was that the telephones (2) in the room did not work. I was not able to get a wake up call. I also wanted to know the breakfast hours and could not even contact the front desk.I emailed the hotel to ask what the hours were and they answered my email the day after I checked out. (I was only there one night.) No breakfast for me! And that was one of the reasons I stayed there - hot breakfast was advertised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room-especially as the phones were not working. We are sorry you missed breakfast due to this issue. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

a great stay away from home

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
One of the hand towels had a yellowish stuff on it. Outside of that the hotel was great. I had no problems and the check-in process went smooth.