Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If there is a problem they will make it right

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly and courteous staff, clean rooms, well equipped weight room
Cons: Beds were more firm than I prefer
Location: Very close to UAB and many restaurants within walking distance.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 2/10 until 2/12/2017. When we arrived at our room I noticed a card in the desk that stated if we had a problem to let the hotel staff know and they would make it right. During our first night in the hotel we were awakened several times during the night by the guests in the adjoining room. I called the front desk 3 times during the night to complain. The next morning I went to the front desk and told the front desk manager about our experience. Without hesitation she moved us to an upgraded room, reimbursed us for the previous night, and gave us a credit in our bill to pay for our breakfast. I felt this was going above and beyond to make sure I was happy. When they say tell us if there is a problem and we will fix it, they mean it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure to have you and your wife here at the Doubletree by Hilton Birmingham. Our goal is to provide our guests with the level of service and attention to detail that exceeds expectations and we appreciate your kind remarks. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for a short stay

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Had to change rooms on day one. Breakfast menu was selective but food was cold
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you found our hotel to be nice, but I apologize if we fell short on your initial room and breakfast. We take our guest reviews to heart and are always seeking ways to improve their experience. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Convenient to UAB hospital

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Great friendly staff, clean room and excellent care of travelers displaced by inclement weather.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Brian, thank you for your comments about our friendly staff, clean room, and overall experience at our location. We’re sorry to know you were inconvenienced by the weather. We look forward to seeing you again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing southern hospitality

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Staff, Food, Service, Beds
Location: Airport is 15 minutes away!
We checked in late from a long drive and the staff greeted us with incredible customer service. Every part of our experience there was a positive one. I will be staying here in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tn

The lady is tired

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Everything needs a facelift now and again. The carpet is old the artwork outdated and the bath tub was dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

business trip

Posted Jul 24, 2016
all of the doubletree hotels i've been in were nice but this one did not have a microwave or fridge. why not?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Nice downtown hotel.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Nice, comfortable hotel. The staff was friendly. Parking was easy and pretty affordable ($10). Close to lots of the downtown sites. Plus, the cookies were scrumptious. The only downside is that, like lots of hotels, the walls are fairly thin and you can hear the neighbors pretty well. Hopefully, the guests will be courteous enough to pipe down during the evening hours. Other than that (and even with that), my stay was quite enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown birmingham hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2016
We stayed for 3 nights, room was dirty, they wouldn't come and clean in until we asked for it, AC very noisy, hotel needs improvements..would not stay there again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama City Beach

Great Location

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The location and price
Cons: Needs updated all around.
Location: Close to restaurants and interstate
The room itself is in a good location, but the hotel itself needed updated in a bad way. The furniture looked like it was picked up out of a second hand store. I can't believe this was a Hilton property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Not clean and out of date. Staff was nice and location was nice