Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Convenient location. Staff friendly, worked for us for one night
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Valerie Watkins, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evans, GA

Econo Lodge, 1535 Montgomery Hwy, Birmingham, AL

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: It could be cleaned like a hotel/motel or hotel/motel room should be cleaned.
Location: The hotel is in the adjoining building with a nightclub which boomed and shook the walls until I fell asleep.
This was the worst hotel stay I have ever had. Because I did the nonrefundable reservation, I could not leave without forfeiting my money. It was horrible from check-in. The hotel lobby and stairs were filthy. It did not appear that the lobby, stairs or room corridor had been vacuumed in a year. I literally had to clean the toilet before I could use it. I can't believe I was the first person to complain about the room because the toilet bowl had the pink residue that shows up after several days of not being cleaned. The toilet set and sink which were sticky, appeared to have been sprayed with some solution only to never be wiped down. I called the front desk and the clerk said there was no housekeeping staff and she could not help me. I even asked if she had a toilet bowl scrubber and some cleaner and the only thing she offered was a bottle of Windex. I had to use disposable wipes to wipe down everything. The next morning I tried to iron and the iron which was missing buttons did not work and water just ran out of it. I called the front desk and they sent up another iron which also did not work and water ran out of it. The only reasonable comfort was the bed. My stay was a nightmare from from the beginning to the end. I will never stay there again and I advise you not to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Valerie watkins, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Good for a nights stay. Complimentary Waffle House.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Vee, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by Tammy

Bad BED BUGS!!!!!!!!!

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
I hope you reveal the REVIEW!!!! I STAYED at this HOTEL server all times and loved it!!! BUT This time I GOT ATE UP BY HUNDREDS OF BED BUGS!!!!!!!!! IVE literally had to go to the doctor and have had to spend alot of Money!!!!!! AND THE HOTEL MANAGER OR OWNER!!!!!! Wounldnt even credit my account back for the amount of time I was there!!! I've been simply misable!!!!!! Don't go to this HOTEL!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Most of the staff were very nice. The maid banged on my door and was very loud and rude the morning I left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
Thanks for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Sincerely Valerie Watkins, FOM
3 out of 5
by H Harrison

Good customer service

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
On the web site it said the rooms had been newly renovated and I have stayed at this hotel before many years ago and it was nice. When we entered the room it was not clean. We went to the front desk and the lady at the front desk was fabulous. She was so nice and understanding and she took care of it right then. Can't say enough about her. I wish I could remember her name.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017
Thank you for staying with with us. On behalf of our entire team. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
by AJ

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst service ever!!!!

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
I booked this place ahead of time. Drove all the way from north Carolina so i get there at 4 in the morning. Clearly im exhausted ready to get to my room & get some sleep. The guy at the desk didn't speak good English but proceeded to tell me i wasnt in the system even tho i already paid. So im going back & forth with him about it, he then tells me i have the wrong location & tries to send me across town to one of their roach locations. So i ask for a manager or anybody that can help me bc my stuff had the same address and he wanted to argue with me that their are 2 addresses in birmingham that are the exact same, highly frustrating. I finally get someone on the phone & suddenly oh i found your name. He then proceeds to charge me Again after i previously paid online. So around 530 im finally in my room, at this point im frustrated so i can't sleep i go get breakfast come back & finally go to sleep. Next thing i know im being woke up to staff banging on my door telling me i didn't pay & to come down to the office. At this point im very angry. They finally pull it up in the system & tell me the other guy didn't put me in their system as checked in. I've never seen such chaotic & terrible service. I will never stay here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT SO GOOD @ ECONOLODGE IN BIRMINGHAM, AL

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
We booked a 2 bed room for 3 adults & 1 child. We were given a one bed room. The other 2 adults had to call around & find another place to stay. After all was said & done (& someone that could also understand English), we were compensated for having only 1 bed.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Centrally located hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient place for my stay