Ratings based on 848 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from okc

Its old and outta date..

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Mold on the ceiling. Paint peeling. Front counter was excellent. the rest of the staff was a little rude. The stay over all was ok. Wasn't impressed. It looked way better in the pics.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Ok hotel close to the Zoo

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff was super friendly.
Cons: the cleanliness of the room, amenities that were promised, and the breakfast provided to all guests.
Location: Zoo & Botanical Gardens
We only stayed one night, in the "Premium 2 Bedroom/2 Bath Suite". Air conditioning struggled to stay at 72 degrees, the curtains were dusty and the stains in the carpet were visible even with the dark crazy pattern. There was no Keurig coffee brewer, snakes, or drinks even though we paid for the "premium" room. Oh, and the refrigerator was hotter than our 72 degree room. Again, this was an ok stay for one night and a visit to the zoo, however I would not recommend longer than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birmingham stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The room smelled very badly of foot odor, which cleared up in a day. Apparently this must have been a pet suite. This was not healthy due to my allergies. On the day before checkout our room was not tended to and on arrival we found the television remote not working which after reporting it to the front desk, wasn't resolved until a second trip to the front desk. The pool was not consistently maintained. Complimentary made to order breakfast and happy hour was a very nice surprise. Although the suite is outdated, my family and I were comfortable after the minor glitches were resolved. I must mention that this seemed to be a very busy weekend and some of the staff did their jobs while others to be overwhelmed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham.al

Needs upgrades

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Its overrated.the pics on the website look amazing but when we got there it was just ok.the a/c wasn't that cold.the microwave smelled like burnt popcorn.the mini fridge wasn't cold enough. Mold all over the restrooms ceiling. The paint was peeling in the restroom. Breakfast was ok. Front desk was really nice.the other workers were rude half the time.. We won't be staying there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Jun 26, 2017
I have stayed here twice now, both for family events. Absolutely not worth the price! And definitely not to par level for an Embassy or Hilton property, either time. The hotel is past its prime, was probably very nice in the 80s-90s. Looks like quick fix attempts were made at updating and repairs. Also smells like a moisture problem, room smelled very mildewey and bathroom ceiling with black mold spots. Fan in the bathroom appeared to be original to building and was negligible at best; probably hence the mild spots. The plate that connects shower head to tiled wall was broken and hung there leaving exposed gap in the wall. Fridge was broken and wobbly. Only 1 remote for 2 TVs. One mini trashcan for entire suite, had to request a fan from front desk to try to ventilate out some of the mildewed air. No stand to set luggage on. Pool and hot tub very heavily chlorinated, irritated skin. Someone in the hotel apparently had pizza as pepperoni was dropped on the atrium stairs and remained there all weekend. Location is not the best, located in middle of corporate office building industrial park. Have to drive to even the close locations (zoo, etc). No sidewalks in vicinity to run/walk and "fitness center" was a walk in closet. Staff was nice. Rooms were spacious. No improvements made from last trip a few years back. It they would make actual repairs (not short cut quick fixes) and address the aging building it could have potential.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: huge rooms
Cons: customer service, b-fast, cleanliness, hot tub
Hot Tub "broken", but appears water is in it and running - no effort to really find out what the deal was, could my family use it; b-fast: awful: like, they use the least quality ingredients, they have zero customer service, everything was kind of disgusting - you could see them making stuff on the flat top and it was full of old food, burning away... gross... bed too soft; tv small.. room huge though...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carolinas

Good employees, dirty hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Employees, comfortable bed, clean linens
Cons: Cleanliness, overnight "store", ice
I like to find the good in a stay and the employees here were all extremely nice and helpful. Also, the beds were EXTREMELY comfortable and the linens very fresh and clean. However, the facility is in utter disrepair and SO DIRTY! I had a crawling infant with me and she was covered in filth just from crawling across the carpet. Also, the bathroom shower had mildew. I also found mold/mildew behind the toilet when I was picking something I dropped on the floor. I had invited my grandparents to vacation with us and I was mortified by the state of the pool room, most of which was out of order and, once again, filthy. I do want to reiterate that everyone we talked to was VERY wonderful. The hotel owners simply need to reinvest in some upgrades and more cleaning staff, etc. I did note that there were lots of maintenance folks during our stay, so perhaps renovations will begin soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

On of the most convenient locations in Birmingham

Posted May 3, 2017
This was our first stay at this Embassy Suites and I have been coming to Birmingham for 15 years. The real reason for choosing it this time was the wife and puppy were traveling with me and we all enjoyed it. Has all the good stuff you want in a hotel and none of the bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Gorgeous Garden Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Beautiful, clean, magnificent lobby, plush rooms, great breakfast, really bad coffee.
4 out of 5
by Roslyn

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was extremely friendly. The only thing I can think of is the need for more variety of snacks at the afternoon reception for the kids.