Ratings based on 827 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: huge rooms
Cons: customer service, b-fast, cleanliness, hot tub
Hot Tub "broken", but appears water is in it and running - no effort to really find out what the deal was, could my family use it; b-fast: awful: like, they use the least quality ingredients, they have zero customer service, everything was kind of disgusting - you could see them making stuff on the flat top and it was full of old food, burning away... gross... bed too soft; tv small.. room huge though...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carolinas

Good employees, dirty hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Employees, comfortable bed, clean linens
Cons: Cleanliness, overnight "store", ice
I like to find the good in a stay and the employees here were all extremely nice and helpful. Also, the beds were EXTREMELY comfortable and the linens very fresh and clean. However, the facility is in utter disrepair and SO DIRTY! I had a crawling infant with me and she was covered in filth just from crawling across the carpet. Also, the bathroom shower had mildew. I also found mold/mildew behind the toilet when I was picking something I dropped on the floor. I had invited my grandparents to vacation with us and I was mortified by the state of the pool room, most of which was out of order and, once again, filthy. I do want to reiterate that everyone we talked to was VERY wonderful. The hotel owners simply need to reinvest in some upgrades and more cleaning staff, etc. I did note that there were lots of maintenance folks during our stay, so perhaps renovations will begin soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

On of the most convenient locations in Birmingham

Posted May 3, 2017
This was our first stay at this Embassy Suites and I have been coming to Birmingham for 15 years. The real reason for choosing it this time was the wife and puppy were traveling with me and we all enjoyed it. Has all the good stuff you want in a hotel and none of the bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Gorgeous Garden Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Beautiful, clean, magnificent lobby, plush rooms, great breakfast, really bad coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The reception is amazing! The staff is great!
Cons: The breakfast was a little lack-luster. Wished there were more fresh fruit.
Location: We were traveling to University of Alabama for a college visit. Wished we had more time to explore the civil rights historical monuments.
We had a short visit, but the staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Cons: Everything
Room dirty and smelly of smoke. Air conditioner sub-standard in working. Noisy with banging noises all night. I'm 5'4 and shower head so low I couldn't stand under it. Breakfast items that were supposed to be hot were cold. Chunky milk. Filthy in halls, elevators and lobby. No hot tub even though stated there was. (shut it down-forever) Pool was freezing after I had to wait over 20 min for them to unlock doors that should have been open 2 hrs earlier. Got locked in pool room as doors wouldn't open from inside. Need I go on?! Stay away!
5 out of 5
by Joy

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was awesome! Only thing I would complain about was that the indoor pool water was so cold that we couldn't swim in it. But besides that it was great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by marshae

Plumbing issues in bathroom

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
The water from the bathtub faucet dripped all night.. The face bowl in the bathroom would not drain while water was running.
5 out of 5
by steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels