Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Gorgeous Garden Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Beautiful, clean, magnificent lobby, plush rooms, great breakfast, really bad coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The reception is amazing! The staff is great!
Cons: The breakfast was a little lack-luster. Wished there were more fresh fruit.
Location: We were traveling to University of Alabama for a college visit. Wished we had more time to explore the civil rights historical monuments.
We had a short visit, but the staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Cons: Everything
Room dirty and smelly of smoke. Air conditioner sub-standard in working. Noisy with banging noises all night. I'm 5'4 and shower head so low I couldn't stand under it. Breakfast items that were supposed to be hot were cold. Chunky milk. Filthy in halls, elevators and lobby. No hot tub even though stated there was. (shut it down-forever) Pool was freezing after I had to wait over 20 min for them to unlock doors that should have been open 2 hrs earlier. Got locked in pool room as doors wouldn't open from inside. Need I go on?! Stay away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family trip

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay besides the smell of the carpet I the rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southside, AL

EH It's OK!!!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Rooms need some maintenance and updating. The great breakfast and managers reception helps offset the cost of the price of the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mountville, SC

Embassy Suites Hotel Homewood

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: A restaurant (Ruth Chris's) is located in the hotel and it was excellent. The interior lobby with trees and fish ponds is very nice and relaxing.
Cons: More tables at breakfast. Much better design in the bathrooms. Better attention to customer issues.
Location: The location is the main reason I stayed at the hotel. It is a safe part of Birmingham and easy to get in an out.
The overall experience was not too great. The bathroom was designed for handicapped use, so there was no wall between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. Despite two drains, a great amount of water collected near the toilet and could not be removed. My shoes got wet every time I tried to use the toilet. The bathroom has no shelves and no place to set towels on except the top of the toilet tank. The shower itself was extremely disappointing because there was so little water pressure. This was not the typical low water pressure that is designed for less water consumption, but a greatly reduced stream that would barely get a person wet. After the first day that they room was cleaned, there were no clean towels left with us in our room. We went down to check-in and requested additional towels, but none were sent. The next day we had to request towels again and they did bring some up to us then. The pool was closed for 3 of the 4 days of our stay without explanation. Because it was an indoor pool, this had been one of the big reasons I had chosen the hotel. At breakfast there were not enough tables for us to eat on. Even though the breakfast is included with the room rate, we were forced to eat at a restaurant offsite. Our second key card did not work. I went to the check in desk and they supposedly made it viable. Once again when I checked it on my door, it would still not work. For a hotel as expensive as Embassy Suites, I had expected more value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas texas

Great place to stay.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Great place friendly staff wonderful breakfast and dinner. Rooms are getting a little out dated. Could see day light all the way around my front door. Rooms were clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, spacious, great breakfast!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
No complaints... helpful staff, large rooms, shuttle, happy hour, & made to order breakfast ..PERFECT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Branson, Missouri

Centrally located hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Aside from a couple of minor maintenance issues in our room our stay was perfect. The breakfast was delicious as usual and the happy hour was perfect. The facilities were secure quiet and the location is wonderful. The property is well-maintained and very pet friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I was very comfortable,clean and the breakfast was great