Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, Norfolk

Close to Birmingham City Centre

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: It was very clean, good parking very warm welcome and lovely staff.
Cons: The rooms are outdated and the double very small.
Location: Reasonably close to the NEC (12 miles by car) and the City Centre.
Hotel in a good location. Staff were all very pleasant, we received a nice warm welcome. Restaurant staff were excellent, food lovely. The restaurant itself could have been a little bit warmer, we were quite chilly. The room was very clean, however was very disappointing as it was so small, hardly room to move, glad it was only 1 night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Room was very small for a double think it was a single !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stourbridge

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, close to public transport, free off road parking
Cons: Keep breakfast option open until 11am at weekends. People like a lie in! Ask guests to be quiet in corridors in the mornings
Location: The hotel is in a great location on the Hagley Road, with a bus stop literally outside the front door that will take you directly into the city.
The hotel is in a great location on the Hagley Road, with a bus stop literally outside the front door that will take you directly into the city. The hotel itself is clean, has decent facilities, ample parking and is well presented. The staff are friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome when we arrived. The rooms isn't massive for the amount you pay, but that is the city for you. The bed was comfortable and all the facilities worked in the room. The breakfast was plentiful and hot. There was a rather small selection of pastries and drinks, but there was plenty enough that I walked away satisfied and full. The only issue I can find with the hotel is that the walls are paper thin and I was woken several times by other people walking past our room or in neighboring rooms. Unfortunately, we were next to the broom cupboard, so I could hear the cleaners talking and gathering cleaning things very early in the morning. However, in between disruptions, I slept well because the bed was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex UK

Leaks and No Shower

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: A lot of things, but most especially the room sizes and conditions. The lighting in the car park.
Location: The location is not great, far away from the centre of the city where there is not a lot to do and see around the hotel.
When arriving in the car park on the first day we found it difficult to see in the car park because of the glaring light, there was no light on the hotel sign so its difficult to tell whether you are in the right hotel in the dark. On one of the days, the shower wasn't working and on another we had a member of staff knocking on the door at half past seven in the morning to tell us there was a leak. There was no more heard about this. The room was small and cramped despite the fact that on arrival we were asked to upgrade from our original room. We were told the room we originally booked was very small and uncomfortable and they could get us a better room for an extra £30, We both banged our legs on the corner of the bed whilst trying to squeeze past.This hotel is quite a long way out from the city centre. We have since discovered that we could have got a cheaper hotel in the city centre. We ended up paying good money for a not very good situation. The staff here are mostly quite friendly. We didn't enjoy having to get a bus everyday into the City centre. At night time coming back the buses were infrequent so we got taxis costing £9.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ross on Wye

Great welcome at check in, very helpful

Posted Sep 15, 2017
great value for money, we upgraded our rooms, very happy with everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Good location

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More spacious room for 2 people
Location: Plenty to do but we were there for a specific reason
Ideal base for going to T20 Finals day at Edgbaston Cricket ground but room a little small for longer stays, good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Nice hotel small rooms!

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Clean. Friendly staff
Location: Lots of places neartby like TGI Fridays, Indian restaurants and pubs
Nice hotel which is undergoing a refurb so common areas are clean and tidy. The room we had looked like it too was recently refurbed again which was clean and all the plug sockets had USB ports. The two downsides were the room size - tiny for two people and I still claim it was not a full sized double bed and no air con. It was a hot weekend and the window only opened 5cm so couldn't get any cool air in the room. The hotel is in a great location with lots of eating and drinking places withing 5-10 minute walk. We got an UBER into the City Centre which only cost £4.00 so could value there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portugal

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Excellent staff, always very helpful. It is at some distance for the city centre, however it is done in a pleasant walk. The room is very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

Overnight stay

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Travelling from.soutj wales for a one night stay easy to get.to. booked 2 rooms for my.partner me and daughter. Both rooms nice and clean. Car park was nice and secure. Stay were helpful and friendly. Room faccilities we good nice size comfy bed. Also good view from both rooms. Plenty of place to eat close by(highly r ecomend pub accross the road) breakfast was very very nice overall really enjoyed our stay and would reccomend and stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Nic hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Its nic hotel. Staff vy nic. But my room is not nic. Bed is not nic. There was vy hot fan was vy slow. It was useless.