Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel and lovely staff

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Everything was good but room was very small especially toilet next time I would like to stay in different room number
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for weekend overnight

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Clean, friendly staff. Good quality breakfast. Room was on the small side, could have been warmer and wash basin was cracked. But for what we needed and price we paid no real issues..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Nice stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017
A nice stay in a decent hotel. Would have given 5 stars but the woman at reception initially gave us a standard room when i paid for an executive room. Had to go back down to the reception to sort it out. Unnecessary confrontation. Should have been given what i paid for initially and we wouldn't have had a problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in for sure

Posted Feb 13, 2017
All I will say is don't be fooled by the pictures u see online of the standard room it was riddicilously small. I have stayed in so many hotels even very basic ones but this was the worse of them all. You walk into the room u have a bath/shower on one side and a bed in one corner no room whatsoever to get ready comfortably nor move around. We came attending a function and it was the worst experience ever. The room was mostly tidy bathroom wasn't very well cleaned. We asked the staff and management if they upgrade our room, but there was a lighting fault causing other customers to downgrade!!!! which was worse. Premier inn across the road is miles better don't book this hotel it was nothing but a disapointment!!!!.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weymouth, Dorset

Space issues in City Double room

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, good quality room furniture, location, parking,
Cons: A proper gluten / allergen free menu to avoid the embarrassment of waitress / chef / customer negotiation!
We've been staying at the Strathallan for many years when visiting family in Birmingham and have witnessed the many changes of ownership. We though we'd experienced all varieties of rooms and when booking via Expedia did not realise what was meant by the City Double we booked. The quality of the furnishings, bed comfort, etc. were as good as we've experienced in the past but . . The Reception staff admitted this was a former single room where they've squeezed in a slightly smaller twin than their usual bed. I had to climb over my wife to get to my side of the bed with insufficient space at the foot of the bed to get in that way. There is no wardrobe - just a 30cm pole sticking out over the desk area with space for 6 hangers (3 provided). There are no other wall hooks in the room or bathroom for a coat or a ladies dress if attending a formal function. There was insufficient space to move the desk chair to the non-desk area and one of us had to climb on the bed for the other to pass from one end of the room to the other. A great room for single occupancy but nothing more. The meal was difficult as my wife needs a gluten free menu. They gave her a pre-prepared / laminated list of meals on the menu, showing which had each type of allergen. So far, so good. However, every main course meal had gluten except the "Super foods" salad - peppers, beans, nuts, etc. The friendly waitress arranged grilled salmon and plain veg & new potatoes but we were charged the fancy meal rate
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Very small rooms and very cold had to ask for a heater
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel but freezing in rooms

Posted Jan 24, 2017
I booked this hotel for 3 nights, hotel staff were friendly. Hotel was clean and tidy. But in the corridor to the rooms is was freezing, and in the room even tho they gave me an blow heater that is un healthy to anyone. I am very disappointed considering it's apparently a 4* hotel. I don't think it's worth the money I spend one bit. I don't think I will be booking this hotel any time in the future. It was warmer outside then in my room in January. Says a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Close to city but far enough to be quiet . Great

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Went to Birmingham for the day / night , hotel great people friendly and lots to see and do. Will return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star Disappointing Room

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location, car parking, foyer.
Cons: Bedroom layout and heating.
Good points - Car parking, wifi, reception, location. Bad points- very small room, 80 percent space taken by bed alone. Almost like staying in a shoe box! Heating could also not be controlled so had to ask for a fan heater. Bathroom also very tight. Staff were OK, but dont think I will stay here again. In future I will book based on reveiws or reputable chain rather than star rating as I have stayed in better 3 stars. Overall not happy but thankfully only stayed for one night. My advice to the hotel would be to convert room 507 into a single room with a single bed. It is not fair to customers to call this a double room and sort out the heating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Didn't happen

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Communication with customer non-existent
Location: N/A
No contact from hotel after notifying them of family member falling ill prior to travel