Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campton NH

Quiet downtown location....easy walk to Uptown

Posted Aug 30, 2015
General Manager very pleasant and informative. Tutwiler is across from Linn Park...close to research library and Art Museum. Rooms are large and very well appointed. Lobby coffee available 24 hours a day. Bar service was slow with just one bartender.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, great staff!!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Not much to do within walking distance near the hotel. Had a great time at the hotel bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

historic treasure

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Beautiful historic treasure. Large room (719) and very comfortable beds. Not all rooms were large, so ask. The hotel is quite elegant! Beautiful marble and chandeliers in the lobby. Century old hotel, but air conditioning, water pressure, etc worked like brand new. Walk to art museum, cafés, park, courthouses, public library. All very beautiful. Parking is a pain because not free and have to valet each time you come and go. Valets were speedy and very friendly. Fabulous stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

worst hotel stay ever

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: the location was nice
Cons: Give customers a partial refund when partiers destroy your night's sleep.
Location: There's a library and park directly across the street.
I couldn't sleep and had to change rooms because there was a party next door to my room. The smell of marijuana permeated the entire floor and made me physically ill. The staff was all smiles and had that Southern charm, but ultimately didn't make up for the fact that I had to relocate after midnight to another room. Seriously, the staff was remarking on how thick the odor was, even coming out of the elevator as it opened. I took a picture of my lumpy bed, but for some reason the editors won't publish it. Trust me, it was scary-lumpy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Great location in downtown

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Staff was super friendly, very clean, only complaint is that the breakfast was a little cold both mornings we tried to eat it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thompson

Perfect location

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Truly enjoyed the proximity to Kelly Ingram park and the Heritage Civil Rights Trail. The hotel is beautiful with lots of history. The pictures in the hallway add to the experience, and the smaller pictures on the room numbers continued the legacy. The staff in the breakfast area and the valet staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing deal...especially for the price!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown Birmingham. The staff (from the valets to checkin to the girl working the morning breakfast-which is included) were all wonderful. I pass through the area once a year and will definitely be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Hotel crew were very helpful, my wife was the hairdresser for a wedding. When we requested an area to setup and prepare the wedding party, they happily let us use one of the rooms upstairs, next to the restaurant. My second stay here, highly recommended...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2015
The Tutwiler is a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bartenders are great! Very friendly and we had a good conversation with both gentleman who served us. The valet attendances were awesome! Keloe (not sure of the spelling) and Vince were very friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome. We would most definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Perfect for Respite Weekend

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Cons: Not sure that it could be improved but parking is limited to a meter on the street or valet.
Location: Historic library, fine arts museum, city park
My husband and I needed a break from care giving and a general change of scenery. The Tutwiler was the perfect choice in terms of comfort and quiet. The restaurant had some solid offerings. We will likely make this a destination in the future.