Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Lovely, stately old hotel.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Very friendly helpful staff. Close to arena. Lovely spacious room. Airport shuttle. Just wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enjoyable and friendly staff.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanness, Helpfulness, guys at door was awesome
Cons: Free Parking
Location: Downtown near museums, convention center and others.
It was great and a enjoyable stay enjoyed my stay and the friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old school hotel downtown.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Nice old school hotel downtown. Renovated with new amenities. Great location. Nice staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from I

Bad lighting in rooms and cheap, hard linens.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
This hotel will make you regret booking with them because you can't cancel. Regardless of the help with a 3rd party vendor, they will make it impossible. Due to the condition of the rooms and quality of linens, it's evident they need any penny they can get. The lighting is horrible and linens are hard. The water pressure in shower was weak.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: It was beautiful and old-fashioned. I loved the view from the bedroom and the window and bathtub in the bathroom. The location was ideal.
Location: The Civil Rights Institite, the historic parks and churches and the libraries were the most important to me. The libraries were across the street!
After checking in and receiving helpful pointers from the woman at the desk, I walked up to the Civil Rights Institute, passing beautiful, leafy parks and red brick churches on the way, which took on much greater meaning once I had toured the incredible institute. The next day I walked to the library across the street, was greeted by woman at the library who went out of her way to give me ideas about what to see and do. I went to the beautiful old research library and then walked to Five Points and back via the Peanut Depot. It was all wonderful .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Came to Birmingham for business and was looking for a historic hotel. Beautiful old building on the outside, modern Hampton on the inside. Valet parking. Right downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McLean, United States of America

Comfortable beds, clean, and friendly.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Bigger rooms, baths.
Cons: Waiting for the valet.
Location: restaurants in walking distance
Feels like home....big comfy bed, lots of room square footage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Hotel was great but bad experience with checking in and paying plus was charged on my card after paying cash and still don't know why and haven't been reimbursed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A classic hotel with a Hampton charm.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The beds are awesome. The rooms and view from huge windows out the front of the hotel is wonderful,
Cons: n/a
Location: It was a very convenient location as we were close to 65 and everything downtown.
We very much enjoyed this hotel with a historic and high end vibe. A couple of minor suggestions: Keep the coffee containers full in the lobby! They ran out and were empty while checking out. Also, windows on door entrances should be cleaned regularly. The glass was dirty, which can make a negative first impression. The free breakfast on the 8th floor was good for a morning hotel breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Very nice downtown hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The hotel was really great! We loved the location. It was very quiet. We enjoyed being in walking distance to shops and eateries. The on-site restaurant was very good! The continental breakfast was good- nothing spectacular but it met our expectations. The staff was very friendly! The decor is amazing and the whole place is very clean. There are historic photos of the Birmingham area down the hallways and little displays of historic artifacts. I would definitely recommend this hotel.