Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus,oh

Downtown Birmingham overnight stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Right downtown, close to art museum and civil rights museum
Cons: Hotter water
Lovely old hotel with large rooms, nice sheets. Great location. Wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Alabama

Nice and great location to Convention Center

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Location and clean
Location: Centrally located, close to the Convention Center.
The valet team was extremely nice and helpful. We were a late check in, desk clerk wasn't friendly, just did the check in, didn't talk much. Our room was nice and comfortable. Just a couple of things, trash bags were not big enough for trash cans, kept falling down in the can. Water pressure was low in the shower. The breakfast was nice to have, we were running behind! The morning check out person was smiling, friendly, talked to us, asked questions about our plans for the day. Our overall experience was pleasing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Stay here for service, comfort & charm!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Staff and service make this property excellent! Beyond friendly and accommodating. Shuttle driver called me twice with updates on his status due to rush hour traffic delays and he was only 10min past original plan. It's a lovely 100 year old hotel downtown but updated in key furnishings like bathroom, shower, awesome beds in spacious rooms (even the basic king room). Only 2 hotels (cheaper but yuck) closer to airport and this one will now always be my choice to stay again! Outside of rush hour, it's barely 10min to airport-very convenient. The restaurant food is outstanding--they're somehow connected with a culinary institute so menu isn't vast but quality everything. Shrimp & grits and ham Mac & cheese TDF!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable
We booked this hotel last minute and were very happy with the our stay. Hotel is very nice, clean, easy to get to. Staff is wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gillespie, IL

Very nice, great history

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I had no idea about the historical significance of The Tutwiler when I booked this room on Expedia. We were in awe upon our arrival. The hotel is beautiful, our room was spacious and had plenty of sleeping space for the six of us. It's also within walking distance to many restaurants as well as the Library and other areas of interest. We will be returning!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel / Comfortable

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Took my daughter to see the play "Wicked" in downtown Birmingham, Alabama. The hotel was convenient, clean, architecturally beautiful, along with helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Our Tutwiler Visit

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Hotel bell & valet parking staff are excellent; very friendly, very helpful; our use of the hotel shuttle made getting around B'ham so easy!
Cons: Communication between front desk and shuttle staff when calling to hotel for pick up (front desk was the problem, not the valet staff).
Location: Art museum was fantastic, it's just across the street. Fish Market is an excellent choice for a great dinner with live music.
Spent three nights in Birmingham AL for work. We stayed one extra day to explore downtown B'ham. We went to Library, Art Museum, Vulcan park and museum, and The Summit for shopping and dining.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Historic Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Our stay could not have been nicer. The staff were excellent, loved everything about this place
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Checkout & Breakfast Nightmare

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: I really like that my stay is over and I do not have to cross their threshold again.
Overall the hotel was okay. The room was fairly clean but did have issues such as wallpaper coming lose from the walls in the bathroom. The lady who set everything up for breakfast was very rude to guests when they would ask a simple question like where certain things were located. She would go into a long explanation as to why she places items where she does. All of this was completely uncalled for. This occurred on two separate mornings so this was an indication to me that she does this all of the time. When I went to check out there was a problem with getting a receipt for all there nights that I stayed. This made no sense to me when a coworker of mine who had also booked my room had no problems getting a receipt for her complete stay. I have stayed in many Hiltons over the years but after this stay, Hiltons will no longer be at the top of my list for accommodations. This saddens me greatly!
5 out of 5
by John from Greensboro

Great Charming Hotel

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Halfway travel from GSO to NOLA. Great place, great food(nearby). There was a wedding going on in the main lobby and they were loud. But hardly hear them from bedroom.