Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The room was very clean and the breakfast was a really good continental I was wondering how they make a profit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lowestoft

Hostal life £12 per night

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Welcoming Friendly £12 just 10 minutes walk from city centre/ new street. Toast and 3 types of bowl cereal Open 24 hours
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disorganised and uncomfortable

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I'd booked a private room but, when I arrived, there had been a problem and they had none left. Though I was offered a 4-bed dorm to myself, no one apologised for the error and the receptionist kept poring over my confirmation email like it was my mistake. In terms of the room itself, it was hardly equivalent: 2 bunks squeezed into a tiny space with hardly enough room for me to open my suitcase on the floor. The springs in the beds had broken, meaning the whole thing sagged uncomfortably in the middle. The room had a large window onto a courtyard where people were smoking so it smelt of smoke and was noisy late at night. There also wasn't a blind/curtains so the light from the courtyard was disturbing. I didn't sleep at all well and had I had the time, I would definitely have checked out and found an alternative but sadly didn't have that opportunity. I wasn't expecting a luxury but this really wasn't adequate for what a needed: a few hours of sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would not recommend

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were very rude Was very noisy, hardly got any sleep
3 out of 5
by Kate

Great location, rooms are nothing like photos

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The room is nothing like the photos, dull decor, badly painted, no tea and coffee facilities, old furniture and the shower didn't work which was annoying when I needed freshening up. The staff were friendly enough and the reception area was cool, also the hotel is great for location and nightlife. I would stay again but the rooms really disappointed me.
1 out of 5
by linda

Pay £85 for private room and get robbed

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a private triple room for myself my son and daughter to celebrate Mothers day. We were travelling from North Wales, Portsmouth and Liverpool respectively. Although the beds were fairly comfortable two were located under the windows and were draughty. The shower in the bathroom was disgusting. There was thick mould. Outside the room in the corridor there were two large linens bags. This was a health and safety concern and serious fire risk as they blocked the fire escape route. We checked in around 6pm. We requested the complimentary free drink and slice of cake. We were told there might not be enough milk for the two hot drinks. We were given them but they were cold. We had to request again the cake. We left the hotel around 6.30 to go to see a show returning at midnight only to find that valuables had been stolen valuing approx £750 had been taken from the room. We informed the night reception and requested that the police be nformed. The manager was also notified. We were reassured that management would be there at 9 am and that we would be able to access cctv footage from the camera outside the room. At 9am we were informed management was not available and in a phone call with a deputy manager it was implied that we we scamming. We were informed that a member of staff would be on duty at 3pm to review the cctv. We amended our travel plans accordingly but on our return were told we would have to wait until Tuesday. The matter is still unresolved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middleton st George

Nice hotel close to the city centre and amenities

Posted Mar 27, 2017
On arrival found check in really easy I was shown to my room and once checked in found the room very clean and tidy had a comfortable overnight stay and breakfast next morning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
It was terrible. Dirty. And unconfotebel
2 out of 5
by Claude

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Room no tv and crowded one couldn't breath well
4 out of 5
by Elisabeth

convenient

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
It is good value for your money. Staff was very friendly and helpful