Ratings based on 613 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Exceptional Staff / but some unfortunate problems

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff and easy access to interstate
Cons: Have the housekeeping supervisor check out rooms as they are finished. Our main issue could have been avoided.
Location: Proximity to I-20 is what made us choose this hotel.
The first thing to be said is that every member of the hotel staff was outstanding, friendly, and genuinely interested in making our stay comfortable. I give the highest marks for that. It may have been a one-off, but the first room we were given was missing a shower curtain and there was a lot of dirt in the tub. The rest of the room was satisfactory. This tells me that either housekeeping had not finished or the former customer came back later to clean his boots or wash a big dog. Who knows. We called the front desk and they apologized profusely and sent somebody up with a key to new room. He said they would compensate us by assigning more points to our account. The young man was very polite and attentive and you could tell he was embarrassed for the hotel. When he inserted the key to the new room, it wouldn't work. Apparently the room was already occupied and locked from inside. He was appalled that this had happened and we were then escorted to a third room where we spent the night. The room was a little cramped but otherwise satisfactory. The only other thing was that we had a security problem with with some guys in a car sniffing around our car...we could see from our room. I went outside and when they saw me approaching they drove off. We told security about the problem and they said they would watch it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slightly below average

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Flight got cancelled. Stuck in Birmingham. I'm not too picky. I just want a clean room and a comfy bed. Room appeared clean at first look. But hair all over the bathroom. The box Spring was broken on one side. So the bed dipped to the right. Had to sleep sideways. Restaurant waitress was very nice. But waited an hour for my food. Ordered chicken strips. Once I got them the fries were cold and soggy. And the chicken was undercooked. Wasn't the best experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel for a night or two

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Staff - kind and accommodating. Food was great. The shuttle to and from the airport was great - the drivers were friendly and made us feel welcome.
Cons: Our tub in the bathroom was terrible. It didn't drain at all and the water pressure was too strong.
Location: The location was great - 4 minutes from the airport and really close to downtown Birmingham.
We were only in town for two nights. The hotel was comfortable and got the job done - no extra frills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

NASCAR Trip visit

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Dining facilities were excellent and received prompt service.
Cons: The computer for guest use was not working Sunday afternoon.
Location: My trip was strictly for the NASCAR race at Talladega so cannot add further comment.
I was immediately checked in without delay and proceeded to my room on Thursday May 4th. On Monday morning May 8th, I was checked out without any delay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Room was just ok, nothing over the top. Remodeling made it a bit unorganized. Took a long time to get served dinner.
2 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is the middle of a refresh to the new Holiday Inn environment which is why it received low ratings for overall, condition and cleanliness. The room had new beds and new furniture but carpet, walls and hallways have yet to receive refresh treatment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a nice hotel!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
I booked this hotel due to its close proximity to the airport... It is NOT in a nice part of town. I was told by the cab driver that I should not venture out. I have never been nervous staying in a hotel before but I definitely was this time. This may not be a concern to the men but I would caution any female traveling alone. The interior of the hotel was undergoing renovations which I understand but the second floor appeared dirty. During my two day stay the housekeeping carts were parked outside of my room; and that's where they resided. My sink did not drain. Honestly, the only redeeming quality of the hotel was some of the staff. One gentlemen went out of his way to drive me to a class I was attending.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Decent enough

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Stayed overnight for quick service to airport and free shuttle. Lobby area is nice done. Beyond that in common areas, wires everywhere, half done projects to improve. Beyond the first floor looks like it hasn't had care in years. Carpet is well beyond its usefulness. Some furniture and beds are nice. Great water temp and pressure. Sirloin salad was nice. People friendly. Overall adequate, but overpriced for a night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is under construction.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The staff was delightful and was really trying hard to make the stay enjoyable.
Cons: I don't think they should be charging full price when there is so much going on.
Location: Good location to the airport.
The hotel is under construction. They are working on the main lobby, restaurant and certain floors throughout the building. The staff is very nice and welcoming. Even though our floor was mostly done, there were things that needed to be addressed within our room. The curtains were not in working order but we were able to work them without the pulls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Older hotel under going renovations. It was adequate for our purpose. Close to airport and price was ok.