Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel for a night or two

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Staff - kind and accommodating. Food was great. The shuttle to and from the airport was great - the drivers were friendly and made us feel welcome.
Cons: Our tub in the bathroom was terrible. It didn't drain at all and the water pressure was too strong.
Location: The location was great - 4 minutes from the airport and really close to downtown Birmingham.
We were only in town for two nights. The hotel was comfortable and got the job done - no extra frills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

NASCAR Trip visit

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Dining facilities were excellent and received prompt service.
Cons: The computer for guest use was not working Sunday afternoon.
Location: My trip was strictly for the NASCAR race at Talladega so cannot add further comment.
I was immediately checked in without delay and proceeded to my room on Thursday May 4th. On Monday morning May 8th, I was checked out without any delay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Room was just ok, nothing over the top. Remodeling made it a bit unorganized. Took a long time to get served dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a nice hotel!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
I booked this hotel due to its close proximity to the airport... It is NOT in a nice part of town. I was told by the cab driver that I should not venture out. I have never been nervous staying in a hotel before but I definitely was this time. This may not be a concern to the men but I would caution any female traveling alone. The interior of the hotel was undergoing renovations which I understand but the second floor appeared dirty. During my two day stay the housekeeping carts were parked outside of my room; and that's where they resided. My sink did not drain. Honestly, the only redeeming quality of the hotel was some of the staff. One gentlemen went out of his way to drive me to a class I was attending.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is under construction.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The staff was delightful and was really trying hard to make the stay enjoyable.
Cons: I don't think they should be charging full price when there is so much going on.
Location: Good location to the airport.
The hotel is under construction. They are working on the main lobby, restaurant and certain floors throughout the building. The staff is very nice and welcoming. Even though our floor was mostly done, there were things that needed to be addressed within our room. The curtains were not in working order but we were able to work them without the pulls.
3 out of 5
by Brian

Dumpster

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
what a dump!
4 out of 5
by Eduardo

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean. The hotel needs updates carpet old and paint. The side of town looks like the projects . I was safe at hotel but driving through to get there did not feel safe. The whiskey steak was excellent that they served in their grill kitchen. We enjoyed our stay. All of staff from front desk to house keeping to kitchen were friendly and nice which made a difference. : )
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impeccable staff, hotel showing its age

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very conveniently located, and the staff are extremely helpful and nice. Unfortunately, the hotel is also showing its age and in need of new carpets and paint in many areas, including guest rooms. We found the water in the shower to be too hot (dangerously hot, really), and it was inconvenient that the toilet didn't have a lid. With the towels stacked on a shelf above the toilet, it would be nice to have a something to help avoid knocking washcloths into the bowl! Finally, be aware that the vending machines take cash only.
1 out of 5
by Zack Cordell

Dont stay here unless you like filth and uncomfort

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was the dirtiest most uncomfortable place that I have ever stayed. The smoke detector was hanging off the wall, lamps and curtains were all broken, there was blood splatter on the floor then to top it all off they decided to "test" the fire at 8:45am. I plan to call the hotel and ask for my money back. It was the worst experience and I will never stay at Holiday inn again if this is what I should expect. I spent $125 to be disappointed and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels