Ratings based on 1,022 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wow. What a night!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
It was exciting to know that certain people were at the hotel at the same time. The room was great and I had a wonderful time. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great location and view.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: style Cleanness Location
Cons: Price and promotions
Location: Great location and everything is local and accessible.
Great experience and very happy with the service provided. Very helpful and understanding staff. keep up the good work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Our stay was ruined by food poisoning. We had a horrible Valentine because of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Busy Modern Hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is great, the hotel responds quickly to requests, the concierges are helpful, lobby is fairy luxurious.
Cons: Parking is a bit of a pain. You are lucky f you vcan park nearby to drip off your bags. The nearest car park is a ten minute walk away,
Location: The ICC and symphony hall are on your doorstep. The canalside area is a few minutes walk.
The hotel is well situated, right next to the nicest bit of Birmingham and the bars and restaurants around the ICC and Symphony Hall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel but....

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable and well situated Helpful receptionist on arrival who sorted out a problem efficiently
Cons: Rather expensive - deters private bookings
Location: Ideally situated for city centre and NEC activities. Close to everything
Good room, good views, good beds, good staff, but................... Whilst all very modern equipment, the television had very poor reception, with 'freezing' pictures and un-watchable. When complaining to the receptionist, they said they had got some problems, but no hint of any compensation or reduction (e.g. complementary breakfast)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No Parking & Incompetent Staff

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Cons: The Reception staff were appalling. Not welcoming, not helpful and no eye contact throughout check in and check out.
Location: Ideally placed for my visit but I will stay somewhere more welcoming in future, and with far better facilities. There are plenty to choose from.
After having stayed at the Hyatt several times in the past I arrived to find there was no parking at all at the hotel any more. The Concierge advised me valet parking, and indeed the usual parking arrangements were no longer in place. The Concoerge advised that the Receptionist would be able to give me directions to some parking for the hotel which was located on the other side of Broad Street behind the library. Reaching this car park meant joining rush hour queues and walking back to the hotel via a dark and unfamiliar path at night. After advising I would be given a parking permit that I would be charged for whether I used it or not, the Receptionist confirmed that I could choose to park in the pay and display car park at the end of Bridge Street. I opted not to take the permit but use ther muvch more convenient and safer pay and display multi storey car park. As I left to move my car, and on informing the Conciege, he advised that only residents of the Crown Plaza were now permitted to use the aforementioned multi storey car park at the end of Bridge Street. I will or be staying at the Hyatt again, terrible service, with unsafe parking which is too far away from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Dominik, Hotel Management
Dear User, Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham. I am truly sorry to learn of the upset caused by the inconvenience with the parking facility we currently recommend. Our managers are currently working on ways to better improve this facility to offer convenience to our guests arriving by car. I really hope that this will not deter you from using Hyatt Regency Birmingham again. Thank you for staying and I hope to be welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Dominik Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Nice Hotel in central location

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness and the general ambience
Cons: See comments above
Enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful and my room was a lovely size, clean and well appointed. I had breakfast both mornings which was generally good although the scrambled eggs were a bit overcooked. My only real issue was the drinks available in my room. The decaffeinated coffee tasted horrible and there were no hot chocolate sachets, when I asked for some I was informed they had run out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Dominik, Hotel Management
Dear User, Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham. I am truly sorry to learn of not exceding your expectations during your stay. I have shared your feedback with the F&B Manager who will look into this further and improve as necessary. Having said this, I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back! Best Regards, Dominik Director of Operations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Tired

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Cleanliness, maintenance, service, air conditioning that actually works, engineers who exist.
Location: Good location, short walk to all things required.
If you're bothered about the temperature and cleanliness of your room then maybe consider sleeping elsewhere. A/C wouldn't change temperature down from 22.5°C and instead of changing my room I was offered a desk fan! The bathroom needed a better maintenance and cleaning- shaving residue all over mirror, toilet seat unhinged, lipstick mark on bath robe. Basically, a little gross. I'd rather stay at a budget hotel than something with a name and no standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Dominik, Hotel Management
Dear Sally, Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham. Please accept my sincere apologies for the level of service you have encountered during your stay. I have shared your feedback with the relevant Managers who will ensure we do not slip with the quality of service and ultimately, to deliver as Hyatt Hotels have been known for. Thank you for staying and I hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Dominik Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Excellent location

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Good central location for concerts. Helpful staff. Very friendly concierge staff. Food lovely but not a great vegetarian selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Dominik, Hotel Management
Dear Emma, Thank you for such a great review, it will be a pleasure sharing your compliments to the team who made you feel welcome during your stay! On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back! Best Regards, Dominik Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of city

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Generally clean modern room, but toilet needs improvement, seat moved as it was a cheap seat and base was not cleaned very well. Staff were excellent and brought up surprise birthday chocolates. Pool and spa were lovely, better than my own gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Dominik, Hotel Management
Dear User, Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham. I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointment caused by our bathroom toilet. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Manager who will look into this further to improve as necessary. Having said this, I am glad you had the time to take advantage of the pool and spa, adding a relaxing experience on your stay. Thank you and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Dominik Director of Operations