Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted May 23, 2017
Hotel is near numerous places to eat. Fast food and restaurants. Room very spacious and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome experience!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Clean, competent staff, quiet room, top-notch room-service.
Cons: Not a single thing!
Location: Stayed while moving my mom's things to storage nearby...
Without a doubt, I'd stay here again, and am delighted to recommend this hotel wholeheartedly!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback of our hotel property. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocoee, fl

No Hotub or Pool as listed.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The staff was very nice and the room was comfortable and clean
Cons: Pool and Hotub maintenance!!!!
Location: Didn't explore the area much
Overall everything was ok. The Staff was very nice. Pool and Hotub were listed as Amenities on the Booking Site....neither was open...both were filled with algae. This was a main reason for booking at this location. I had a long drive and was looking forward to the Hot Tub. This kind of thing happens too often and is enfuriating when Motels don't maintain this Amenity
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by General Manger, Hotel Management
My apologies that the pool was not operational during your visit. Our pool is seasonal and does not open for the season until May 29th, 2017 as stated on our website. The pool will be open in 10 days. Again my apologies for the miscommunication.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location, just 10 minutes from downtown

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: ease of access to highway
Cons: pool was not operational and was a bit of an eyesore.
would definitely stay here again. We really liked that you could take a walk in the morning or evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very clean and quiet.

Posted May 16, 2017
Staff very friendly. Clean and quiet rooms. Right next to the interstate.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Always welcoming, clean and nice staff.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort of the room.
Cons: Noise reduction from pipes. Also having ventilation in all the rooms for the bathrooms (ours did not have one).
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby (American, Asian, Mexican), Sam's club. Conveniently located on US 65 going South.
The room was clean as well as the bathroom. However, we could hear when the other residents were using the bathroom (we were in 330). The TV remote was not working very great either. The pool was kind of green and not really welcoming. Other than that, the breakfast was great. Plenty to eat and drink. The staff is nice and friendly. The hotel is overall very well maintained. We always choose this hotel when we go there and will do it again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
I have received your review of our hotel. My apologies for the excessive noise that you experienced during your stay. I will certainly share your concerns with my maintenance staff. We would also like to thank you for your kind words about our property. It means a lot. Hope to see you back soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus, GA

HORRIBLE hotel!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Reserved a non-smoking room 5 months in advance and we get there and they tell us they already have away all the non-smoking rooms so we have to have a smoking room. I told them we couldn't because my children have asthma and they said oh well. Never again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback. My apologies that you did not receive a non smoking room as you requested months in advance. Our guest expectation is very important to us and when we drop the ball we take it very serious. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our entire team so that we may improve our operation and prevent similar situations from occurring. Thank you again for your time, and we hope that you will give LaQuinta Inn & Suites another opportunity to make it right
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Business trip

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Room was good, staff was nice but the breakfast was an absolute joke. It's the worst breakfast I have ever seen at a La Quinta and one of the worst at any hotel chain. If you're going to offer so little, no scrambled eggs, or pre maid omelets, or any meat choice, then why bother? Very disappointing, please don't even say you have a breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels