Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derby

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Great location helpful staff clean room good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Good location in city centre.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Very pleasant stay once again. Only downside is there is a lot of street noise especially in early morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overbooked me and made me get another hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
I booked the hotel at 8pm and left my home town a little after that to arrive at the hotel at 1am , I rang the hotel to ask for directions to the nearest car park , in which they replied, can you ring back in 5 mins as I don't know ! So I found a car park and walked to the hotel . When I got there the front desk informed me there was no more rooms and I had to stay else where. They did manage to get me a hotel but told me I had to pay for my own taxi to get there ! So I had to wait outside at a taxi rank in the middle of the night with my dog also. Not happy at all with the experience, the hotel looked lovely though and a good position for shopping .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Lovely hotel, great location and very friendly. Great bar called the Bacchus Bar. Great vibe, excellent selection of gin. Delicious pie meals. Recommend this place to anyone visiting Birmingham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice Hotel near Birmingham Bullring

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very clean, spacious and welcoming hotel 200yds from Birmingham Bullring. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Breakfast and evening meal portions a bit on the small size, ok if loosing weight, which I am not. Breakfast £12.50pp for full English, evening meal £25.00pp for 3 course meal. Parking at a nearby NCP approx 500ysrds away, excellent shopping facilities nearby, looking to visit again in 4 weeks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

city stay

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: very accessible next to new street station. hotel very clean, staff pleasant excellent breakfast
Cons: just quieter room
Location: right in city centre. great for sightseeing
this is our second stay at this.. and found it excellent. only one slight problem our room was next to the air conditioning as I am light sleeper I found it difficult to sleep
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't include breakfast!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Had stayed scopula if times over a year ago, breakfast was then great. Major dissatisfaction this stay full English. So dried out it was inedible! Bacon like WWF jerky dried completely out. Beans and mushrooms the same. Asked staff to take it away and they apologised and bought the same plate back replacing the slice of bacon and added water to the beans. Needless to say I didn't eat it. The following morning I opted for boiled egg and soldiers. Egg barely cooked. So If you're happy with cereal and continental breakfast you'll be happy with this hotel. But I won't stay there again. And it wasn't cheap
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

City center location but tired looking hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location was great, right by the train station and shopping.
Cons: Hotel needs a good update, room cleaning standards needs to be looked at plus amenities need an over haul.
Location: City center location right by the train station so great access for shopping, travel and nights out.
Wasn't a great experience to be honest, especially after finding out I was an expedia customer after this they couldn't have done less for me, the comment was 'well you did get a bargain from expedia'. Room was right next door to where they were doing building works, which meant noisy air ducts which banged well into the early hours, bathroom had long hairs all over it (I am balding), one towel had marks on it, room had no coffee. Was meant to stay two nights and left after one, changed hotels for the second night, costly exercise that won't be repeated again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Birthday

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Lovely hotel although we did have issues with room key not working twice & air conditioning not working very well. Fab location too. Staff were lovely tho.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and could do with freshening up

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Room was nice enough but was a little damp and dusty - don't think it had been used in a while. It's a noisy hotel as you have busy streets on either side.