Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location and hotel but disappointing stay.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
False fire alarm at 2am. Shower broken, cold water. No apologies!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is run down, dated and slow.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Happy staff
Cons: Old and tired
Location: Convenient for the train station.
The hotel staff were friendly. Everything took forever to check in etc and there was always a queue at reception. I'm guessing because of the old systems they were working with. The food wasn't great, after waiting over an hour for room service I ended up throwing half of it away. Strange room layout and cleaning could have been better. Overall it's a dated hotel that needs to seriously look at the customer experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Excellent location for main train line and main shops. Gets one easily to conventions restaurants and so on.
Good room huge and bathroom. Hotel and staff very helpful but they struggle due to lack of staff. Food good and all the interior is nice. Does need updating. Room though was cold and was unable to adjust heat. Also so was the hot water both bath, basin and shower it would only get teped and in fact felt cold to touch and wash in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location in central Birmingham

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Ideal location, close to city hall, galleries, shopping and the ICC. Decent bed and good breakfast room.
Cons: No pool or gym on site, no great views from the rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MEERUT - INDIA

Nice hotel close to station and mall

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Flooring of the lobby
Location: Location is superb with train station opposite one exit and shopping walking mall on the other.
Best hotel I could choose to stay while in Birmingham. Train Station, shopping mall and everything is at your door steps.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sehr zentrale Lage

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Zimmer renovierungsbedürftig, z.T. Aussicht auf Abluftsystem. Personal eher unfreundlich. Das enthaltene Frühstück ist eine Frechheit, sonst nur gegen weitere Aufpreise.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Heath Hayes

A Great Location

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Richard on the desk was fantastic, very helpful and even upgraded our room for my wifes birthday. Afternoon tea in the bar was good, fresh bread and good cakes, but we were not offered a tea or coffee selection just bought 2 pots of tea, I ask for a pot of coffee and this was replaced no problem. Breakfast: The brass in the resturant needed a good clean and the floor could do with being resufaced, the staff were a little quiet and not very attentive, but the poached eggs were perefect. Richard & housekeeping did their best to resolve a small issue with an iron and a shirt for me. The hotel could do with a spring clean and a paint job. I would stay their again due to the location, right next to the train station and easy walking to the thearte & restuarants etc.and of course as the front of house staff (Richard) made us feel very welcome, and always geeted us with a smile when we passed reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hull

Faultless - almost

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Staff were polite and effecient as well as friendly. The room was very large with a separate walk in shower and bath. Beds very comfortable. Central.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.
Location: Shop! Shop! Shop! The Alexandre theatre is a short walk away.
The macdonald Burlington is one of my favourite hotels and continues to be so. The only thing I missed were tea and coffee making facilities, but there is a tesco e press where you can get fresh orange juice for a drink first thing in the morning, which is very close by and they do offer tea and coffee on a room service basis. Would definitely stop again.
4 out of 5
by Janet from Newhaven

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Compact 'Executive' room but had everything you needed including robes, slippers, iron and an empty fridge you could stock yourself. All Reception staff helpful and friendly - Professional with a can-do approach to ensuring all was fine for guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

とにかく駅から近いホテルです。

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: 駅から近いのと、部屋が広いこと。
Cons: フロントの人の対応を改めてほしい。英語のわからなそうな日本人でもね。
Location: 駅に近いので、近郊の観光に便利。
チェックイン時、フロントのスタッフの人の機嫌が悪かったのか、男の人だから余計そう感じたんでしょうか、イライラした雰囲気で、言い方にとげがありました。