Ratings based on 800 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Noisy

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Very noisy city centre location. Not ideal if you want a good nights sleep. Poor glazing in a rough part of town, despite the classy bars and restaurants close by. I told the staff at check out about the noise. All I got in return was an explanation that they did try and sort the noise out by calling the police the few times needed. Rooms were quite tired and just a personal thing, I don't really like the yellow sheets (non bleach policy) as they look old and unhygienic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth UK

This is not a 4* hotel!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Bought a night as 'a secret hotel' 4* but it falls short considerably. The position is v central but due to noise on a Sat night, the concierge suggested upper side room - 4*? The carpet in corridors was stained, the colours of decor drab in room, but particularly, the bath is tiny eco bath which for a slim but 6'3 man is a challenge! The hot water took ages to run & wasn't hot. The shower was a light spray - we gave up as getting a shower just meant getting damp & cold. 2 tea bags on offer & 3 little milk pods - no mini-bar, not a problem for us but 4* would have? We paid £75 but the room full price £99 direct when we checked. Didn't eat or drink there.Wouldnt go for a secret hotel with Expedia again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridgd

Central hotel close to lots of amenities

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Stayed for two nights while attending Cheltenham Racing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california usa

Best hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Absolutely loved this hotel. Clean, classy, comfortable, and very inexpensive. Everything thing you need is a few steps or minutes away. We were clueless without our world traveler friend, who got sick and had to leave us. It was the 3 of us out of country for 1st time. Travel from taxi , train to printing out boarding passes was done by our hostesses. Laundry, directions, wake up calls. I could kick myself for staying the 1st 2 days of our trip in an expensive, uncomfortable hostel. We plan to return and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. I lost the paper with the names of the very helpful people twice. The young lady was dark haired and said she was originally from I believe middle east. The young man was dark haired thin an accent Brittish and something else. Oh he had his hair in very neat and intricate braids on top. They were both part of our fantastic stay and easy stress free preparations for travel . Love you Novotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly excellent for a reasonable price

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Location is fantastic right on Broad street. Walking distance to the NIA and ICC, the surrounding area is rich in bars and restaurants with plenty of nightlife. Considering all of this you cannot hear any noise from the road or any rowdy revellers, the hotel has double windows (quadruple glazing I guess you could say) in the rooms so no noise is getting in and excellent blackout curtains, we awoke and didn't realise it was daylight outside it was pitch black. The rooms have plenty of modern amenities; fridge, iron + board, coffee making facilities, LCD TV and a bluetooth speaker (this was a really nice touch that I've not seen before), and crucially plenty of plug sockets for charging your gadgets. The bathroom was clean and looks fairly recently renovated, the toilet was in a separate room though and was less impressive, the shower was excellent. The bed had a memory foam mattress and was comfortable enough but a little on the hard side for my liking. It seems like a fairly old hotel but the rooms are decorated and renovated well to disguise this and have all the facilities of much more expensive hotels. The bar and restaurant are modern though we only had breakfast which was a buffet so can't comment on the service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel was great in itself apparently secure however a brief departure from our room and a Kindle Fire disappeared had to be internal problem. Reported still investigating. Too bad they have done little to date. To show they intend to take ownership of problem. Safe had low battery is why we were afraid to use in case unable to retrieve items not world wide customer service we expected. Too sad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated to centre

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Good hotel just needs to stop charging for parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Very good hotel . Friendly staff . Great location

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Enjoyed my stay . Very good breakfast . Very clean
4 out of 5
by Lee

Quick easy check in, nice friendly stay,

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Overall great stay, was very noisy due to new years eve traffic, beeping horns etc, as near very busy road, hotel was great though, location , near great bars restaurants theatre etc,
5 out of 5
by Colin

Accessible, clean. Corridors a little dated...

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff very helpful and friendly.