Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Reasonable price. Clean.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, with pleasant staff.
Cons: Everything was ok.
Location: About 1 mile from City centre, with access to public transport. Excellent public transport system to towns and cities in the W. Midland
Reasonably priced and cheerful hotel. perfect for short stay. Not far away from town centre on main bus route.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by carol, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Anthony Thank you for your comments will pass this to the team. Kind Regards Carol Clarke
2 out of 5
by Carlene from Swansea

Staying at Quality Hotel Wolverhampton

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was dissapointed, the bathroom sink was cracked and inside the crack was not clean. The bath need to be properly clean, the wall had mildrew. The carpet makes the room stuffy. Inside the hotel in a whole need air freshner so that it smells refreshing and clean instead of stuffy as one walks through it. Overall the interior (doors, floor, etc.) of the hotel need rennovation. The positive about the hotel is that it has free parking which is very good. This was the main reason why I had booked to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon I have ensured that all your comments are passed on to the team here. I am sorry the hotel did not live up to your expectations Kind Regards Rose Birch
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor - rooms not all as described

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
We booked two double rooms to stay overnight while at V festival. We were unable to check in early which wasn't a problem and parked at the hotel before heading off to the festival for the day. We checked in when we arrived back. The rooms we received were totally different - one was as per the website and the other was a box room at best. In the box room (room 88) the shower and toilet were accessed through a wardrobe door in a partition wall which had no handle on the inside so you had to use the hook on the back of the door to pull it shut. The bed was just a double and room was on the front of the building on main road. The corridor outside was only separated by paper thin walls too which felt like other guests were walking through our room. I complained but the night porter was unable to do anything as the hotel was fully booked. I asked if it would be possible to speak to the manager the following morning but the night porter said there would be no manager in. There were also other guests complaining their toilet did not flush and had not been fixed and they'd already stated one night. Apparently this hotel is in the middle of the red light district according to locals we spoke to. Thoroughly disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for your comments, I am sorry if we did not meet your requirements during your stay with us I have checked your booking and you requested a standard double room of which you were allocated. I have instructed the maintenance to check the room and a handle has now been installed. Other guests whom have complained have been dealt with by the hotel and I cannot comment on this.
3 out of 5
by Scott from Kilmarnock

Decent value for money

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
For what we paid this is excellent value for money. The staff were helpful and friendly. They are trying hard to upgrade. The meals were freshly prepared and good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Scott Thank you for your comments I will pass this to management and the team. Kind Regards Carol Clarke
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

hotel was extremely run down

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: close it.
staff were not very helpful. hotel was very tired and run down. amenities not as expected, quality hotel it is not
Comment from Hotel Management
by Rose , Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for sending in your feed back. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit to the hotel. If you would like to discuss the issues further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel
3 out of 5
by michael from Dublin

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at short notice on a business trip. TV was broken in room so requested different room.Shower rail broken in 2nd room. Had to pay extra for breakfast which should be included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for your comments we are ensuring we have maintenance check all rooms to stop these issues Kind Regards Rose birch
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
good Morning Thank you for your comments Kind Regards Rose Birch
4 out of 5
by BOLAJI from Liverpool

My wolver getaway

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for a great review we look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Rose Birch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasantly surprisedqq

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Ease of location, parking wifi, room size
Cons: Decor
Location: City centre close by
Recently stayed at the hotel for a function, having read the online reviews I thought I would keep an open mind. The hotel was very easy to find was parking at the rear . Staff were very friendly and accommodating, despite comments I've read the wifi worked fine in all areas of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, alittle tlc is required I feel re decoration but other than that for the price paid it was overall satisfactory and I would stay again and recommend for short stays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Rose, Hotel Management
good Morning Thank you for your feed back and we hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Rose Birch
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from herne bay

Horrified at the state of our rooms

Posted Jul 1, 2016
My disabled access bathroom had dirty mouldy shower with step iin,no hand rails to help me and no space for an extra person in bathroom to help. Staff were helpful and immediately changed room so mum could help me off toilet, also changed 2nd room so family could be together. The new rooms were very dirty ,baths too mouldy for anyone to use. Carpets,curtains stained,decor tatty. Very disappointed, wouldn't stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
by Rose Birch , Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for your comments. We do not have a room for sole use for disabled people that is why you had no hand rails we do not have a room type of this kind. The staff would have helped as much as possible. I am sorry if you experienced any issues due to this but we would have explained this if a call had been put into the hotel before your arrival