Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Lovely hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel was a pleasure to stay in. Bed was very comfortable and room was luxurious. However if I did have to criticise anything it would be that there was a hole in the duvet
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Vaneer, Hotel Management
Dear Emily, Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you found our bed to be very comfortable and the room to be luxurious. However I am sad to read there was a issue with your duvet. Hopefully this was passed on to the reception team for this to be them resolved for you swiftly. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

City Hotel in middle of Birmingham

Posted May 14, 2017
5 minutes from New Street. Nice breakfast. Hotel is in a new building. Booked 2 single beds in a business class room on Expedia. They only had a Business class room with a double bed. We were unfortunately downgraded to a std room with two singles. Room is much smaller. However, we received a discount as a result. Not end of the world but would be good if Expedia room availability and booking system was integrated with that of the Hotel so that you know what you are booking is what you are going to get.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Vaneer, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you found our hotel to be at a location convenient to you and enjoyed our buffet breakfast. I am sorry you was downgraded in order for you to have a twin room but I am pleased this was resolved for you and you was given an amended rate due to this. It may be worth noting for future booking unfortunately bed preference is only a request and can not be guaranteed unless confirmed with the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel when you are in the city again. kindest regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walsall

Handy for city centre

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Close to city
Location: Close to city station, shopping and theatres
Friendly staff and quick check in. Clean and spacious room with a great view
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Vinny, Hotel Management
Dear Rachael, Thank you for leaving a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you found our staff to be friendly and had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk uk

Great service and great location.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great service. Very helpful when enquired about room availability, early check in and late checkout. Reception service was exceptional​ from the staff member which checked us in / out. Room and breakfast were great. Highly recommended for a short stay in Birmingham.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Vinny, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will ensure to pass on your feedback to the staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tanzania

Old hotel. Definitely not 4 star.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Dirty rooms. No parking.not worth the price. Will try a different hotel next time
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by N. Patani, Hotel Management
Dear Zahra, Thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion - I hope you provided us with your comments at the reception desk in relation to the lack of cleanliness, as this would have given us an opportunity to investigate the issue and also put it right for you. In relation to car parking, we do in fact not have our own, however, our hotel guests do get a discounted rate at the local Newstreet NCP Car park which is situated directly behind the hotel building - should you decided to give us another opportunity to provide you with a much more positively memorable stay, as it should be, please do not hesitate to ask the reception team for any further details as we would be happy to help. Kindest regards, Reception Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central to city centre

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The room was lovely but my lack of sleep meant I was unable to appreciate the room or the view.
Cons: Soundproofing between rooms with adjoining doors or a warning given that the walls in adjoining rooms are paper thin so you may experience some noise
Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this stay at the Raddison and feel I would have had a much more comfortable sleep on the streets of Birmingham. Unfortunately noisy people in the adjoining room from a very early hour in the morning left me unrested, upset and ready to go home and go to bed and forfeit my day out in Birmingham and the cherry on the top was the insinuation by staff that the fact that I did not report it meant it was my fault, even though I did see a staff member in the corridor when I went to the door once again as I was unsure whether the noise was a knock on the door or again the neighbouring room enjoying their stay and apparently even she did not report the noise. I also find it incredulous that no member of staff walked along the corridor for a period of over seven hours. I will not stay at this branch of the Raddison again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by N. Patani, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your feedback on your recent stay. I am disappointed to see that you had a less than satisfying nights stay with us. Please accept my personal apologies if you feel the staff were being incredulous towards you when asking if you had reported the noise issue, the reason they have asked you this was to help investigate the issue and find out if one of our night members of staff had already been dealing with your concerns. We accept zero tolerance on the disturbance of our guests from other hotel residence and we do provide warnings should we be made aware of this, I would also like to add, that we do regular safety checks within the hotel building throughout the evening meaning our staff walk through all of our corridors at least twice also ensuring everything is as it should be. Once again, I am sorry for the affect this had on your stay, should you wish to give us another chance for a much more positively memorable time, as it should be, please do not hesitate to ask the reception team for any assistance as we are always here to help. Kindest regards, Reception Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The location of the hotel is fantastic. Having stayed here a couple of years ago in a tiny room, we thought we'd give it another try, but decided to book a business class room. It was fantastic. Huge, freshly decorated, lots of light, air con that worked...the only downside is the parking. There is a car park very close by, but you have to walk right around the block to get to the hotel entrance. A back door would be beneficial. The staff were helpful, breakfast was great, and a good selection of cocktails available at the bar. We tried to get dinner in the evening, but the restaurant was already closed by 9.45. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by N. Patani, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on your recent stay with us. I am extremely pleased to see that your stay was pleasant and comfortable, I look forward to passing on your comments to the team. We hope to see you again very soon. Kindest Regards, Reception Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Hmmm Tricky one but the rooms are a bit tired. I've been told that they are in the middle of a refurb and floors 10 and below have the new rooms but I didn't get to see the inside of any.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by N. Patani, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. We are indeed undertaking a full hotel refurbishment, providing a fresh and modern image to all of our rooms. We hope you visit us again to check out our new look! Kindest regards, Reception Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Radisson

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Had a lovely stay with my boyfriend. Staff were welcoming on reception; room was clean and had everything we needed. Only fault in our stay was the fact the extractor fan in the bathroom did not turn off at all which was irritating. Apart from that everything was perfect. In great walking distance to the MailBox and would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by N. Patani, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in the city of Birmingham. I am really pleased to see that our staff provided a friendly service to you throughout your stay and that you had a comfortable stay in your room. I am sorry that the noise from the fan did disturb you, please do ensure to mention any concerns you have at the reception desk as we can turn the extractor fans off so they keep noise to a minimal. I hope you visit us again soon. Kindest Regards, Reception Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Not a choice I will make again.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Booked hotel last minute for a stop over in Birmingham. Hotel room was ok, but dusty. We were woken up early in the morning by tapping noises, which went on for several hours. We used the one touch button (a feature if the hotel?) on the phone 3 times, no answer? Gave up and left at 9 despite planning on staying much later, reception not really interested in complaint at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by N. Patani, Hotel Management
Dear JJ, I am sorry to see that you had a less than satisfying time during your stay with us. Unfortunately I am not able to comment on what the 'tapping' noise could have been, as this would of needed to be investigated at the time so we could either resolve this or provide you with a different room - I am sorry for the inconvenience this must of had, and also the frustration caused in attempting to contact us through our One Touch facility. I will ensure your comments are passed on to senior management and this is monitored closely. Kindest regards, Reception Manager