Ratings based on 1,393 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Needs refurbishment

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: where to start?
Location: As above
I did book a single room but was surprised at how small it was, there was no bin for rubbish and I would have liked information regarding fire evacuation in the room. The room was clean but again needs decorating, bath room OK but shower hand set leaks badly, towels were clean and soap shampoo/conditioner and body was supplied. The location of the hotel 10 minutes walk from Bull Ring, area around the hotel scattered with rubbish and the Hotel car park is a derelict building across the road which is like a tip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super value for money.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Super value for money. Staff thoughtful. Surrounding area a worry. Room good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Nousy and rough area not worth the money

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Hotel room was tiny, bathroom was tiny, got locked out of bathroom in morning as door got stuck, it is a rough area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It was cheap at £40 per night but ....

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Price and Location
Cons: Dont charge for early check in !!!
.... I have never been asked to pay £10 for early check in. We had driven for a few hours and a room was ready but they could not give it to us unless we paid £10. Did not feel like good customer service to me felt more like we had been taken advantage of
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A 1 night couple break

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Close to Birmingham town centre. Clean. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.
Cons: The mattress was too soft. TV channels kept freezing
Location: Birmingham shopping centre is in walking distance
Lovely hotel, friendly staff, clean washrooms, rooms could have been a bit bigger, TV channels kept freezing, could have been more milk for the teas and coffees as there was only three.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Nothing to say

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very basic however on up side rooms were very clean and beds comfy.
Cons: I understand that the hotel is used by contractors throughout the week, hence for the large numbers of drunk males.
Arrived at the hotel late at night and was met by not one but three very disheveled guests separately. Intoxicated and carrying bags of alcohol. It made me question what the hotel was used for. When exited the lift to make our way to out hotel room the entire corridor smelt of weed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Hot and sticky, sash window hard to open and noisy. No telephone in room. People bang doors any time at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Hayle, Cornwall

Super convenient for Digbeth / Moseley

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Clean - quiet (on the fifth floor if a bit Barton Fink if you know what I mean) - pleasant reception staff.
Cons: Wi-fi above the ground floor. The hotel is in transition - room on my floor were gutted for redevelopment, it will be nicer when it's finished.
Location: It's in the centre on Digbeth, 15 minutes walk due south of the Bullring. You can walk to the Custard Factory area in 5 minutes / bus to Moseley.
Contrary to loads of reviews on here, I had a good experience at The Rowton. I was there 4 nights over an incredibly hot weekend in June. I wanted to be close to a festival I was attending. My room on the 5th floor was small but I am just a single person. It was clean. I could shower comfortably. I slept well with the windows open, and generally it was quiet. I had breakfast elsewhere because there are lots of cheap places to go for breakfast. What else do you expect for the average pounds per night that I was paying? (This area of Birmingham is a post-heavy-industry area, not pretty, a bit like Eraserhead at times, probably not for a traveller looking for "views" unless massive warehouses are your thing).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: cheap
ok in transition, cheap and basic accommodation quite near the centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southwest England

For the money you pay, a fantastic place to stay!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Needed a cheap place to stay which was walking distance from O2 Academy, found this place and was a little worried that it might be terrible at £40 a night for two (with breakfast included); but was really REALLY impressed! It's a big old building with lovely period features (quite a few of which have been covered over unfortunately, probably too expensive to renovate), both the communal areas and room were very clean, especially the bathroom. The bedding and towels were fresh and clean and the room had everything we needed for a nights stay (hairdryer, large wardrobe, tea/coffee making facilities, T.V. etc), the breakfast was good and the staff were all friendly and informative. O.k. so it's a little rough around the edges but all in all this hotel was really good at providing a clean room and a good breakfast for incredibly good value! I'll be using this hotel again when attending gigs.