Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Checking daughter into University of Birmingham

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We traveled from the USA to take our daughter to her semester abroad at the University of Birmingham. I liked the hotel very much because the staff were very welcoming, helpful and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was large, well stocked and tasty. Our room was comfortable and clean with nice touches like pillow selections, lavender sleep spray, and tea/coffee and biscuits. If I had to pick out a few things to improve on, it would be this : the hallways are very dark. The place felt a bit dated with dark corridors, velour accessories, and purple hues galore. The construction out front was an eye sore but not the hotel's fault. But it did make things seem a bit depressing. Not to mention there were large construction noises on Sunday morning! I would have loved to have had free breakfast and car parking but I realize that is just wishful thinking. And I do think the free Wifi could have been stronger. We were constantly being kicked off Wifi and that is expensive when you are traveling with phones from another country. Overall, I had a pleasant stay. Thanks to the wonderful staff who helped us out and answered our questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scunthorpe

Good location

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Good location, spacious room, modern.
Cons: Having a fridge rather than a cooler. Parking is underneath the hotel at Arena carpark. Its expensive. Should be free!
Location: 5 mins walk to the train station and shops. Very good location.
Stayed for one night with 2 children for sale shopping. Room was nice and spacious and had two double beds. TV was very annoying as it was temperamental and you could only switch it over when it felt like it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in the city center.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to many places to see.
Location: Shopping centres nearby.
Walking distance to many places to see and shopping
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Wickh

Hotel location

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Great location as it was very close to to city centre and meant the youngest kids didn't have very far too walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good position for shopping and the theatre

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location and comfort, also has its own attached car park.
Cons: Always could be cheaper
We chose this hotel for our trip to Birmingham to see the Nutcracker ballet. Hotel is right on the doorstep of the Bullring, China town and the Christmas German market. We asked for a quiet room and were housed on the ninth floor facing the front. Apparently at the back there is construction noise. Lower floors may suffer from road noise. Our room was clean well equipped and in good decorative order. Sunday breakfast was busy but the staff were excellent and looked after us. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Central to rail station and the Barclaycard Arena.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Very central
Cons: Extra lifts.
Location: Central to rail station, shopping areas and entertainment.
Good one night stay at a very central comfortable and clean hotel. A little revamping externally blocks direct access but of no consequence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Great location and couldn't hear extensive long term construction work which was going on next door. Staff friendly, breakfast yummy and hotel located in a safe environment just 10 min walk from station, 15 from the Bullring and 5 mins from the fun restaurants and bars on the canal and Broad Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IOM

A well situated hotel for the shops and shows

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Where it was situated, it was clean and the food was good, all the staff were well presented.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Easy to access shops,shows and only 5 minutes from the railway station
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. When we needed to know a venue they were very knowledgeable and were able to direct us which was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed at this hotel as close to a concert venue.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Clean comfortable room. Breakfast was good quality. Building works as previously mentioned still on going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leek, staffordshire

Perfect location for city centre

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Would stay at the Crown Plaza again excellent location for: Christmas markets, the Mailbox, train station and a night in the city centre