Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel, close to city centre

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Clean, good breakfast. Good parking
Cons: Additional blankets in room to compensate for thin duvet
Location: central, close to city centre
When we arrived there was no record of our booking, eventually found it. Room was cold, thin duvet, no extra blankets. It took about 6 minutes of running the shower before it ran hot. Staff were not overly friendly All right for one night, but will not return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Party Night

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Clean comfortable accommodation but general decor tired. Very good party evening but food only average but good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Edgbaston Palace Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Nice hotel, but quite “tired “ in places. Had a nice evening though and the breakfast was good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth Devon

Posted Nov 16, 2017
We stayed one night and payed for two .We did not sleep much the first night, because ongoing noise out side the back off room/house all night .I did tell staff before leaving,but they were not shore what it was. It was not worth the price we paid. The first night we had a evening meal at the hotel but was not impressed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The bath was dirty, room generally unclean and hair all over the place, bed cover was broken and ripped...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Fit for purpose!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I stayed at the hotel for one night, prior to a tennis event at the Edgbaston Priory tennis centre. While the room was spacious and clean, it was cold, not bright enough, and very noisy all night due to traffic and the location of the room at the top of the stairs in the adjoining building (room 471) The staff were adequate, not overly friendly, but not rude, as my ratings indicate, just an average hotel at an average price that did the job for one night. I was in a double room with breakfast included and it was less than £80, if that had been split between two, £40 per night is pretty good value I would say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Basic but comfortable

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Basic room, quiet, comfortable, nice staff, good value for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Exactly what I wanted.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Cons: The bathroom was the smallest i had ever seen but adequate.
Location: I went to watch the Cricket and Somerset! It was easy to reach on the bus and Somerset won !!!!!!!
The hotel had everything I needed . The staff were very polite and helpful The room was small but certainly big enough for my needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding, CA

Good price, Old Fashion hotel, couple complaints

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: I like that it has an old fashion English feel.
Cons: Give people receipts for breakfast payment. Fix the windows to make sure they stay open.
Location: Botaical Garden is the best thing nearby that we found. We walked to it. it's kind of a long walk, but not too far.
Overall, I enjoyed our stay (five nights.) However, there were a few things I didn't like. I liked the old fashion feel of the hotel. It's old. The service from the staff was nice. However when we were checking out they thought we owed money for two breakfasts we didn't have. (you have to pay for breakfast, and order it ahead for the days you want it). We only had breakfast in the hotel twice. The last time we had breakfast I ordered it the day before and paid cash for it. When checking out, they couldn't find the record of us paying for it, and couldn't find the cash. IT was kind of awkward, because I didn't have a receipt to show, because they didn't give me one, and I wasn't smart enough to ask for one. Luckily they took my word for it, even though they couldn't find the cash in their safe, and couldn't find a record of me paying. (it was a different person's shift when I paid, and she couldn't remember anything). Also, they don't allow you to eat anytthing other than what you buy in the hotel in your room. I thought that was just kind of bogus. Overall, it wasn't . bad though. Main complaints would be the disorganized staff when it came to paying fo breakfasts, and our window didn't have a screen, and wouldn't stay open. Another little odd thing was the dresser next to the bed on one side had a drawer that wouldn't open becauuse it would bump up against the radiator.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Not now

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Bad check in receptionist couldnt understand us took us quite a long time, was asked twice for my card details when id already given them, a lenghty process!