Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The hotel was very dated and felt like it was open for its last days before the new ownership took over. The staff was wonderful, friendly, and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Cynthia

Trendy area but hotel needs upgrades.

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was hard to find and looked to be going through a transition to a new name and update of some kind. The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was older and run down- especially the restroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. This area of town was trendy and fun.
2 out of 5
by William

Quiet, expensive, sandpaper towels.

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
For starters, The Hotel Highland will soon be Hotel Indigo. That's what the sign says out front which makes it difficult to spot when trying to locate. Once in the parking garage, (located behind the hotel), you have to take the elevator down to ground level, negotiate around garbage bins and finally to the back door. Once we finally made it inside we found the staff very friendly and helpful and the room was squeaky clean. Now, this is an OLD hotel and it shows. It is presently undergoing a remodel but honestly, for the price of this room in it's current state it is highway robbery. Overall our stay was uneventful which is a lot more than I can say about other hotels I've stayed in. The only real gripe was the looney-tunes cost and the worse-than-burlap towels. I have never experienced any fabric so coarse, stiff and abrasive in my life so bring your own towels if you plan on staying here.
4 out of 5
by Albert

Club night

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was in transition switching to the Indigo chain of hotels. Cannot beat the location of the hotel. The front desk was friendly and had a smooth check in and out.
3 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
No heat in room first night, construction in hotel, looked like a war zone
2 out of 5
by Debra

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Older hotel, heat did not work!
4 out of 5
by Phillip

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The room could have used a fresh coat of paint. The staff was very nice. The area has great food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corinth, MS

Super Staff, Hotel Just Ok

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff was was AMAZING. They could not have been any nicer or made us feel more welcome!
Cons: The hotel just seemed to be a little untidy. The outside courtyard had several things that needed maintenance.
Location: I was in the Birmingham area for a doctors appointment at UAB.
The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, but the rooms and hotel were just so so. I didn't even see another guest during my stay. This made me feel a little strange.