Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The hotel was very dated and felt like it was open for its last days before the new ownership took over. The staff was wonderful, friendly, and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corinth, MS

Super Staff, Hotel Just Ok

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff was was AMAZING. They could not have been any nicer or made us feel more welcome!
Cons: The hotel just seemed to be a little untidy. The outside courtyard had several things that needed maintenance.
Location: I was in the Birmingham area for a doctors appointment at UAB.
The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, but the rooms and hotel were just so so. I didn't even see another guest during my stay. This made me feel a little strange.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ugly, bad condition, dirty & old

Posted Mar 4, 2017
The hotel seems to be right now in the process of ownership change? I don't know. There is a sign in the lobby that says "Hotel Indigo coming soon". It really needs a good renewal!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Great staff, clean rooms

Posted Mar 3, 2017
This hotel is historic and vintage with great decor. The rooms are cozy but clean. The only thing I lacked was a mini-fridge in the room, but the staff were very accomdating and allowed me to store my insulin in the fridge behind the desk. Parking is over-priced, so we just parked in the public lot behind the hotel. The parking elevator went right down to the back door of the hotel. Complimentary breakfast was excellent and it was walking distance to our concert venue. They are currently being renovated, I hope they do not lose the charm of the Highland in doing so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Awesome Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
My husband and I came from GA to watch a boxing match. The hotel was awesome! Anytime we go back, we will stay here again. Not one complaint.
5 out of 5
by Lucy

Urban chic boutique hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed the decor. Staff is friendly and helpful--seems like a family run business. Forgot to travel with my own pillow, but theirs were fantastic!! Many choices from soft to firm
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and in room coffee leave much to be desired but there is a Starbucks across the street (problem solved). I would stay there again!
5 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs better parking.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Garage didn't have a credit card machine to exit the garage and had to go back in to get cash in order to leave. Also the stairs of the garage smelled like urine.
4 out of 5
by Bonnie

Okay

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Old, smells funny. Beds are hard. It was OK for one night but that is it