Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Really nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
When arrived the check in was quick and easy to complete, the reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel & room were clean and comfortable. Enjoyed my stay. Many thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Disappointing

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: The room and bathroom.
Cons: Everything else. Food, service, staff training. They said the words but didn't appear engaged. A good manager would be able to see what's wrong.
I booked this hotel for my husband; the reviews looked good but he wasn't pleased with it. The room and the bathroom were very pleasant but the reception, staff and food left much to be desired. On check-in the receptionist was busy on the phone so my husband was left waiting without any acknowledgement until "a manager" came over to help out. He'd arrived late so didn't use the restaurant but he went to the bar for a drink but wasn't impressed (the bar was small and without any ambience) so he gave it a miss. In the morning he ordered poached egg, bacon and tomatoes for breakfast and was presented with scrambled egg, bacon and beans. One out of three... And the toaster needs replacing as it wasn't hot enough to toast bread unless you had all day to wait. I have been instructed not to book him into this hotel again...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
On our fourth stay in the last two years .The choice for breakfast is excellent. The staff are very helpful and friendly.Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are modern and clean. The grounds and historic parts of the hotel are well kept.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Very comfortable hotel, staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good overall but could have been marred by misunderstanding about free breakfast - free on Hotels.com website but that seemed to be news to reception. However it was smoothly dealt with and hotel have said they will refund the cost of our two breakfasts.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location was nice
Cons: Rooms, breakfast, staff
Location: Central
This hotel is badly in need of refurbishment and is not clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The Mount is looking a little tired these days. It's a lovely setting in the best part of town but the building's fabric is quite badly jaded. Our room was small and became unbearably hot during the night. The weather was warm but the lack of air conditioning is a serious problem. The open window didn't help at all with no real airflow ..... and having it open allowed all the noise from the next room in. Its guests were carrying on their party in the room and sleep was hard to come by. If you're staying during the week you'll probably be fine. But at the weekend this is a wedding hotel and you'd better be ready for some noise from over-excited guests. And as for the breakfast ..... pretty bog-standard offering, I'm afraid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, spotless room very comfy stay
3 out of 5
by Gillian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels