Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Close to airport and comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and a lovely host.
Location: Near airport. We did not have time to do anything but sleep and have breakfast.
Our host was very accommodating with breakfast prepared just for us and a drive to the airport when we needed to go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Not good! This guest house is in poor condition

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Lots
Location: Nothing nearby, it's very isolated and remote
On first inspection it looked like an acceptable room but on closer inspection you could see the ceiling coming away from the walls, the bathroom window frame was coming away from the wall, thus very noisy and caused a draft. On the surface it was clean but there was no attempt to clean in the corners or those hard to reach places. The bathroom had grotty black mould in the corners and the shower was a joke! ...the shower head would not even stay I position. The breakfast was fine but I wouldn't stay there again due to the overall disrepair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very homely B&B

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Lovely location and so convenient to NEC - just a 5-10 min drive. Very nice home cooked hot breakfast and most importantly the lady who runs it is just wonderful! We mentioned to her that we had forgotten chairs for our stand at the NEC trade show and she immediately offered us her 2 chairs/ stools at no extra charge. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to everybody.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can do better

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
I booked here as the listing said it was close to the NEC and touted shuttle service. When I emailed to confirm my reservation, the response was that we had a reservation, but there was no shuttle service. It seemed too late to cancel and find something else close to the NEC. We called Redlands prior to checking in. We were told not to come until 3:00 PM as the rooms had not been cleaned yet and the proprietor was running some errands so could not let us in early. She did not offer a shuttle as part of her errands. Upon our arrival (by taxi), we were told we could not have a 7 AM breakfast, that breakfast was at 7:30. A compromise was made for 7:15, although I felt pressured for time as I wanted to get to the NEC early. Proprietor gave us a card with the local cab company's number on it. When we returned from dinner by cab, we were told breakfast could now be at 7:00 because other clients had requested it. We arrived a few minutes early for breakfast. My husband requested scrambled eggs. This could not be accommodated as fried eggs had already been started. Proprietor Yvonne mellowed somewhat and provided us two shuttle runs over our next two days (and scrambled eggs). The room was cramped. It had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, but no chairs or table nor was there room for any. The shower temperature could not be regulated and was very difficult to turn on and off. It dripped continuously. I understand this place is on the market.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to Genting arena

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: clean and friendly
Cons: Lighting on paths to rooms
Location: Easy to find, close to arena and Bull Ring
Friendly welcome, close to Genting arena so no problem with taxies.
2 out of 5
by Pauline from Muskego

Pathetic accomodation.

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
This was a poor choice for us. We did not realize how far into the rural area it was. It was up a very narrow road which was poorly lit. The house looked empty with limited lighting around it, not very inviting. Even though we had called the day before, we could not check in until after 3pm ( there was a sign on the front door to this effect). When we did get back to check in, we found no directions as to where we should go. We eventually were let in by a garden gate. One of the reasons we choose this hotel was so we could get a shuttle to the airport, but we were initially told the shuttle was unavailable as driver was just out of hospital. Then we were told the shuttle could not take us until after 7.30am, we had to be at the airport by 6am. This also meant we could not have breakfast and no accommodation was offered for this. We felt there was a rather dismissive attitude towards guests & would not recommend this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Jeanette from London

Really great

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great location for the NEC very clean and good amenities great quality service nothing was to much for our host
4 out of 5
by Martin from Llantrisant

Quirky place but a lovely stay

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
Didn't realise when i booked that it wasn't a hotel with evening food (my fault) but the self contained units were fine. The rooms aren't very big for two people to move around in when getting ready but everything worked and was nice and clean. I slept well but the noise from the fridge kept waking my wife up through the night. Superb cooked breakfast in the morning and the owners were lovely. We would stay again quite happily.
4 out of 5
by David from Deal

Cant fault it!

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very welcoming and great value for money. The breakfast is worth the stay alone excellent all round will be returning next year.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from London

Redlands near NEC Birmingham

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
About 5 minutes (off peak) from the NEC by taxi. Don't try to walk there from Birmingham International Station! It's more of a large B & B than a hotel but the rooms are separate from the house and nicely appointed, clean and warm. It would have been nice to have a chair and a small desk to work, but that's a minor niggle. Everything worked perfectly and the breakfast was the largest I've ever had. I would definitely return next time I need an overnight for the NEC.