Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by S Hamidi

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location. Great customer care. Amazing duplex apartment. Loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Spires in Birmingham during your recent visit to the city, as well as for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Kirsten Jensen Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by paul

The Spires

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
location was excellent although the add on costs such as wifi are expensive. The shower temperature in room 8 was far too hot and there was no one on site to help. The overall room and facilities were good although the double bed was just 2 singles pushed together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Spires in Birmingham during your recent visit to the city, as well as for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to learn that you find our location convenient. I am personally following up on the other issues that you have experienced to ensure that they are resolved. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Kirsten Jensen Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by Andrea

Wonderful Stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
I loved the apartment. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Having not been to Birmingham before she told us where we could go clubbing and where to find great shopping. I would reccomend The Spires to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017
Good Afternoon Andrea, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for recommending us to others! I am very happy you loved your apartment and our customer service met your expectations. We look forward to your next visit. Kindest Regards, Ewelina Pasternak Accommodation Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ALWAYS REMEMBER TO CLEAN UNDER YOUR SOFA

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Under the sofa bed was an unwashed spoon and tonnes of food debris - clearly hadn't been cleaned in a very long time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017
Good Afternoon, Thank you for sharing your views with other travellers and for giving us a high score. I would like to sincerely apologise about the mess you found underneath the sofa, this has been addressed with the housekeeping team. We try and check each and every apartment before guest's arrival and we clearly missed it, once again my apologies. I hope you will visit us again. Kindest Regards, Ewelina
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Bed was comfortable but small. No phone for outside calls, only to the reception. Reception was closed at night except for Friday. If arrival is a Sun. you have to have a code to enter a side door and retrieve your key. Thee reception employees were extremely nice and as helpful as they were able to be, the kitchen was completely equipped.No free wifi.
4 out of 5
by Ritchie

Deposit required

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were clean and well maintained. Everything you need ie restaurants, clubs, bars etc are all within walking distance. The only downside was the £250.00 deposit required on check-in. This is not explained during the on-line booking process. If, after the staff find no damage etc, you get it refunded 7-8 days later!!! Rather extreme to me as most places I have stayed in throughout the UK take your debit card details and will charge your card only IF any damage etc has occurred. Maybe The Squires should move forward and adopt this process in the very near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Great location

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Hotel was very convenient for any activity you wanted to do in the city centre. Less than 10 minutes to the Christmas Markets, Bullring, seconds away from all the restaurants at the Mailbox. Very nice experience. Hotel staff were helpful and accommodating, however the instructor ruins left with the keys (we had a late check in) could have been a bit clearer and the parking is not great i.e. the hotel has none, but you can park on the street if you find a space! Overall a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Ewelina, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Ben, Thank you so much for posting a review. I am glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay. I am sorry our instructions were not clear, I will look into the wording to possibly make it simpler. We do offer 15% discount on The Mailbox parking which is just opposite The Spires, my apologies if you were not aware of this. I hope to see you again in the future. I will make sure your check in process is smooth and simple. Kind Regards, Ewelina
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to train station

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good apartment close to train station and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for leaving a feedback. I am glad you liked the apartment and the location suited to your needs. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Ewelina
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food Show visit

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent accommodation in a perfect location. Close to New Street station and the Bullring. The apartment exceeded my expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and our apartment not only met but exceeded your expectations. I hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards, Ewelina