Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Macon GA

Good room to "live" in for a lengthy stay

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Large room, comfortable bed, great towels and linens. Good overall design of room. Breakfast was good too.
Cons: The desk is very busy - they did a great job but was really hustling every time i was there. Could use more help!
Location: Didn;t really do anything, but Samford University is close and this is a very busy business district.
Had to take a class in Birmingham and this hotel was one of a large number nearby. Was both convenient and easy to get to. This is not a resort hotel - it is a hotel you can "live" in. I like that it had a kitchen and fridge and that I could "go home" there every night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MS

Nice stay

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Nice room, quick check in, clean, didn't smell like smoke like some places you go. Good breakfast layout! Friendly staff! Conveniently located. Just a 15 minute drive to downtown Birmingham without all the noise of staying downtown. I would definitely recommend this for a friend. If I was staying longer I would have been happy to go down the street to Walmart and get a few groceries. We were only in town for the weekend for a dance competition so we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room, but what little we did was very comfortable. Ok how much does Expedia want me to write???
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2016 by ms j, Hotel Management
dear nice stay thank you for the nice comment about your stay also we glad you enjoyed your visit here at the Towneplace Birmingham hope you come again soon... thank jmm front desk clerk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Very nice overnight stay

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Very well-appointed room, comfortable bed. Friendly check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, Alabama

Convenient to Samford

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Kitchen and location
Cons: Could use more cookwear in the kitchen
Traveled for son's All-State Choir convention. 2nd year staying here. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harvest, AL

Nice

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Cons: Sign out front needs to be larger.
Stayed here for an overnight business trip. It would have been great to stay of a much longer time. Quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing MI

Magic City Classic

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: It was close to Interstate, shopping, places to eat.
Cons: Maintenance staff should double check to make sure everything is in place after upgrades to rooms are do. make sure rooms have all the utensils to coo
Location: Your are not more the 10-15 minutes from anything in Homewood or downtown Birmingham
Haven't stayed at this hotel in a couple of years, seen some up grades that was very nice. The staff pleasant when talking to, house keeping staff was very very friendly, they provided with whatever you needed. Herecomes the problems, room (1) air conditioner did not work kept coming on the cutting off, it did have all the utensils to cook with. Room (2) was missing mirco-wave & coffee had 2 utensils to cook with. Room (3) had everything except utensils to cook with. Room (4) had 1 pot to cook with at least the mirco-wave & air conditioner worked
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

Nice hotel. 2nd Year staying for MagicCityClassic

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Great experience looking forward to staying again next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from crestview,fl

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Hotel staff was wonderful. Southern hospitality at its best. Older building. Met our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice hotel location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The staff was very pleasant. It took a while for them to get me in a room but otherwise all was well. My 10 year old twins absolutely loved being there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: Facilities need some attention. Looks well used since the last makeover.
Nice location but the place could use some TLC. The Staff was very helpful.