Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice basic hotel all automated very little staff

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Very quick check in nice food options easy parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Great to see you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slightly disappointed

Posted Jun 27, 2016
We've stayed at this hotel twice before with no issues but this time there were a few little niggles. We stayed in Upper Deck so we expected a slightly more luxurious stay. However when I had to wipe a layer of dust from my bedside table before I could use it, it wasn't a good start. The toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall and wasn't really fit for purpose. Then when we rang down for room service we found the telephone wasn't working. My husband had to go down to reception to order the food. Not a huge problem I know, but it kind of defeated the object! Also the blinds at the window were in a terrible state, proper beaten and battered! All in all I don't feel as though we've had a luxury night away and I'll have to think twice about whether I'd want to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear AK Thank you for your review, although it is disappointing to find that we have fallen short of the mark on this occasion. I can assure you that these issues are not indicative of our usual standard here at Village Solihull, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in the near future. In the meantime Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel and leisure facilities.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: very modern, nice room.
Cons: Longer hours for pool facilities
Location: Great location for NEC.
Would have been nice if leisure facilities were open longer hours over weekend when we stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear VG Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your constructive feedback, which I will be shortly addressing with our team. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jenbul13

room

Posted May 16, 2016
Too hot, air con not cool Enough, not enough tea/coffee refreshments / milk sachets. Would prefer kettle, as machine didn't have just hot water option for the green tea bags supplied in the room. Shower too complicated to figure out For the price I paid I was disappointed- seemed Like a budget cheap hotel when I thought I'd paid more for a bit of luxury Gym shut at 8pm!!! WHY????? Ridiculous!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear Jen Thank you for your review, and I thank you for your constructive feedback around our rooms. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

love it

Posted May 4, 2016
It was a birthday gift for me and we had a lovely stay. Comfortable bed, lovely facilities, approachable staff. Coming back again to this lovely hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear Glo Thanks you for your review. So happy to hear you had a great stay, and we love having you here! We hope to see you again soon, Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by WES from Oldbury

Bathroom facilities inadequate

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were light on the ground so did not answer numerous calls to reception as I had no shower curtain or divider. Therefore had to walk to reception and wait for service. This was really poor given the size of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear Wes Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, but I send my apologies for the faults found in your bathroom. I will review with our team as to why this was not resolved prior to your arrival, and I hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future. Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by T from London.

Dissappointed

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
We were given a room for a wheelchair user. There was no bath, no heated towel rail to dry towels. Pillows like a slab of wood,sink was so low we had to stoop to use it.Had to ask for extra blankets as we were so cold. We were given this room as there was nothing else left. Called down to reception but no one ever picks up the phone. When I complained I was told we should have said we DID'NT want an accessible room when we booked.! I've never heard of anything so ridiculous. Won't stay here again. Real shame it was so nice when it opened.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear T Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and I offer my apologies that it contained errors. Our accessible rooms are almost identical to our standards double and twin rooms, with the exception of having a walk in shower. We also have a duty manager on hand at all time to attend to guest requests, and to quickly and efficiently resolve any issues bought to our attention. Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Valuable Village stay

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Ease of parking and general architectural treatment.
Cons: Clarity about what is included in the price.
Location: Well landscaped parklet within 15 minutes of the National Exhibition Centre.
I arrived late but was in time to have an excellent meal in the restaurant. The room was comfortable, clean and had a good tv anchored on Radio 4 when first switched on - perfect. I made the mistake of having coffee after my meal and found that I did not sleep much but it was a very restful night and I was able to get a good early start to the exhibition I was visiting. I think there may be some confusion about what the price paid covers i.e did it cover Bed and Breakfast. Most guests seem to treat breakfast as though paid for. Because the receptionist said pay for breakfast at the restaurant I did so but would like clarification before future visits.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear John Thank you for such a comprehensive and valuable review of our hotel and facilities. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, in particular our Verve restaurant! I will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team. Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by tom from Salford

just 3 of 5, poor

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear Tom Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, but I too am disappinted that you have left with a negative view of our hotel. From details given, I'm afriad i cannot locate your booking to comment further, but I hope that should you choose to return, we will be able to provide a much more memorable experience. Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by Richard from Solihull

Nice room. No view.

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Helpful staff. Room had a view of a wall and flat roof - but we didn't stay for a room with a view!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Andrew R, Hotel Management
Dear Richard Many thanks for your review, and our 5 stars! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Andrew Rathbone Operations Manager