Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatham, VA

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet. Staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Cons: Air condition was very loud
Location: I had difficulty finding a grocery store.
We were attending the Lott Carey Baptist Foreign Mission Convention at the Sheraton, but were late registering and since I wanted somewhere that was close but nice, we chose The Holiday Inn Express. It was great just 8 minute drive from the convention and we did not have to deal with the large crowd there for our stay. Room and the provisions were very comfortable. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Exceptional Staff / but some unfortunate problems

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff and easy access to interstate
Cons: Have the housekeeping supervisor check out rooms as they are finished. Our main issue could have been avoided.
Location: Proximity to I-20 is what made us choose this hotel.
The first thing to be said is that every member of the hotel staff was outstanding, friendly, and genuinely interested in making our stay comfortable. I give the highest marks for that. It may have been a one-off, but the first room we were given was missing a shower curtain and there was a lot of dirt in the tub. The rest of the room was satisfactory. This tells me that either housekeeping had not finished or the former customer came back later to clean his boots or wash a big dog. Who knows. We called the front desk and they apologized profusely and sent somebody up with a key to new room. He said they would compensate us by assigning more points to our account. The young man was very polite and attentive and you could tell he was embarrassed for the hotel. When he inserted the key to the new room, it wouldn't work. Apparently the room was already occupied and locked from inside. He was appalled that this had happened and we were then escorted to a third room where we spent the night. The room was a little cramped but otherwise satisfactory. The only other thing was that we had a security problem with with some guys in a car sniffing around our car...we could see from our room. I went outside and when they saw me approaching they drove off. We told security about the problem and they said they would watch it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slightly below average

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Flight got cancelled. Stuck in Birmingham. I'm not too picky. I just want a clean room and a comfy bed. Room appeared clean at first look. But hair all over the bathroom. The box Spring was broken on one side. So the bed dipped to the right. Had to sleep sideways. Restaurant waitress was very nice. But waited an hour for my food. Ordered chicken strips. Once I got them the fries were cold and soggy. And the chicken was undercooked. Wasn't the best experience.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to crash if coming in from a late flight when you don't care whether or not things are perfect. The warmness of the staff was the primary reason I went with this place. In the morning, though, the lock on my door broke and my shower tub filled up with water when I showered. But the bed was clean and comfortable and the room cool and dark, which was really all I cared about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel for a night or two

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Staff - kind and accommodating. Food was great. The shuttle to and from the airport was great - the drivers were friendly and made us feel welcome.
Cons: Our tub in the bathroom was terrible. It didn't drain at all and the water pressure was too strong.
Location: The location was great - 4 minutes from the airport and really close to downtown Birmingham.
We were only in town for two nights. The hotel was comfortable and got the job done - no extra frills.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

Better then expected!

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is working through renovations (looks to be 80-90% complete)....the lobby and bar are all renovated. My floor and room were completely renovated. Bathtub faucet and diverter for the shower were still old and didn't work great. "Uptown" area has some pretty good restaurants and patio's and was pretty safe. Not too far from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Heide

Ok

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was good. We didn't have a trash can or remote in the room, but they had recently remodeled. The room was nice and so was the service. The area was not the best. We tried eating at the Hardee's across the road and while at the drive thru the place was robbed. Not a great neighborhood, but ok if just staying for the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

NASCAR Trip visit

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Dining facilities were excellent and received prompt service.
Cons: The computer for guest use was not working Sunday afternoon.
Location: My trip was strictly for the NASCAR race at Talladega so cannot add further comment.
I was immediately checked in without delay and proceeded to my room on Thursday May 4th. On Monday morning May 8th, I was checked out without any delay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Room was just ok, nothing over the top. Remodeling made it a bit unorganized. Took a long time to get served dinner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staffs are so friendly and willingn to help

Posted May 8, 2017 on Orbitz
However, the hotel smells so badly, just like a floor painted but never opened.