Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not be rushing back

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
The food was terrible. Service was good. Premises was tired and musty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old-school hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Secure, quiet, great ambiance
Cons: art in rooms must be by relative.
Location: Lots of locals there on Sunday
wonderful food but slow service. Best seafood chowder ever. Had to ask for a reading lamp. Son-in-law didn't swim since high chlorine odor. Lovely surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice city hotel, close to Birr castle

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: clean room and nice food. We ate both dinner and breakfast there. Staff were just lovely.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Birr castle and grounds. Lough Boora ia a must. Give a whole day to tour it--even two days. Families would have a great time also
Lovely room, good food, nice bar. Grounds are just lovely. Everyone was helpful.
5 out of 5
by ANNE

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
A simple clean hotel. Nice ppl would stay afain
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. The only complaint was that we could not get cold water from the sink in the bathroom. Staff couldn't have been better and sorted everything for us
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Waterford

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyable, food was very nice particularly the mince pies :)
4 out of 5
by Paul

Frequent return

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Always a pleasure returning to this lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good bed, bad breakfast

Posted Nov 25, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived late and the man at reception was very friendly and accommodating. When we asked what time check out was, he asked what time we'd like it to be and arranged for late check out for us at no extra cost. The room was spacious and comfortable and had everything we needed. It was very quiet. Breakfast was a bit all over the place. After we sat down we waited about 15 minutes for someone to take our order - this wasn't the case for all the diners though as most people who came after us seemed to have been sorted out a lot more promptly. We eventually (after much trying to catch the wait staff's eyes) just called out to one to come take our order. My OH got the full Irish without beans and mushrooms, and there was one rasher, one sausage, one of each pudding and an egg, which looked miserable on the plate - we would have expected at least two rashers and sausages. It seemed very mean. I got scrambled eggs and bacon - again one rasher of bacon and the eggs were a bit watery and tasteless. The coffee was absolutely abysmal. We wouldn't be fussy by any stretch of the imagination but breakfast really did disappoint us. The receptionist on check out again was very friendly; I couldn't fault the front-of-house staff. The wait staff need a little more training in keeping an eye on the room though. If I ever found myself back in Birr, I'd probably stay without breakfast. Hotel is walking distance to town centre.
3 out of 5
by Helen from Co Tyrone

Ok hotel, but could do better

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was a little untidy, in the leisure centre there was clutter near the pool, and a bottle of bleach beside the Hot Tub, which I am sure breaches health and safety as there were children running around. Also our room looked out at the back car park and there were broken tables etc lying around.