Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from costa rica

Good for going with couple or very close friends

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Orbitz
We met nice people and had a good time as couple.... Hotel people are not very friendly but they help when you ask them for. The pool was nice but it could be better cleaned.... The food was ok.... The fun is always in your hands and the rest is up to you! Don't go alone by yourself
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nude Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Expedia did not mention to us that this was a nude hotel. You could imagine our shock upon check- in. Apparently the hotel goes by another name too, "Desire". Be ware of this, I'd hate someone to be put in an awkward situation like this in a foreign country.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

web site needs updating left early won't be back

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: location , view
Cons: total refurbishment, get internet
booked presidential suite with balcony . no balcony ?? wi fi non existent. manager even gave me a code but said you can try this but it will not work. Ownership needs to fix this place or close it. employees did their best with what they have . paid for two night, left after one ,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great service in excellent kept grounds

Posted May 1, 2016
Was more relaxing and beautiful than expected. Extremely clean throughout. The entire facility is kept immaculate; from the rooms to the gardens, trees and pools. The views are amazing especially at night. The service from the staff was incredible and very much appreciated. Very good food, cold drinks, and prompt service with a smile. Being in a very remote area forced us to stay within the resort during our stay and relax while being pampered by the attentive staff. I know there are options to explore outside of the resort, but we chose to stay put during our stay. We enjoyed a very much needed romantic vacation with nothing to worry about. We really enjoyed the freedom and quietness as well as the opportunity to enjoy nature nude when we felt like it. Thank you to Laura, Angela, Luis, and the rest of the staff for making this vacation an unforgettable one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa rica

adult hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: the staff was a very good people and the breakfast was good
Cons: change the name of catalinas suites and put the real name hotel desiere so people does not make the mistake and buy it.
my experience was nice , but you have to tell the people that the hotel is for swingers couples because the real name of the hotel is hotel desiere, and people are walking in bathsrope, and the presidential suite that we buy, the carpet smells, the courtain did not work and it was a little disapointment. We ask for a room change and it was very nice near tennis court.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

hard to get to and find

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly Personal and atmosphere
Cons: transportation back and fourth to the hotel
Location: nothing
with our rented car and directions that were supposed to be their in 30 minuted from the airport....took us 5 hours. We finally found someone whe lived there and we followed them. I never get lost while driving, but in Costa Rica the streets do not have names and sometimes come to dead end . We were going so much in circles that I seen the same person selling lottery ticket by the street. The place is like a guarded palace on the side of the mountain. The place does not have heat in the rooms. food excellent. grounds excellent. It overlooks San Jose at night and view is great. The Hot tub had a malfunction .... and the pool was shallow and cool. We got there at night and it was cool. We really could have used a blanket. Oh by the way the road to this place was really bad.. Would I go back... no.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by meme from texas

Great hotel in the mountains over looking the city

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, nature, and the beautiful wood furnishings and interiors.
First time at this hotel and was a great surprise. There are two swimming pools and one is clothing optional. We had a great room in front of the pool, the room also had a full kitchen,living area, comfortable bed, and the property is located in a quiet area with plenty of nature. Also the nightly concert performed by the frogs in the pools by the main building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Questionable near San Jose

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
This hotel was so creepy we had to leave and find another hotel. Staff couldn't get our "room" unlocked after our efforts. Had a hard time getting anyone to let us in through the gate at dark. Expected an Adam's family member to appear. I was actually shocked that this hotel was offered through Expedia. Charge was non-refundable. Now I know why.
1 out of 5
by Nancy Williams from Roseville CA USA

Not as represented!

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels
The pictures on hotels.com did NOT represent the room we stayed in. We arrived at the beautiful place (apparently called the "Desire" Hotel), checked in, and then had to drove down a road to a completely different building that looked like a run-down house that had been converted to rooms. This is the Catalina. No wifi, no a/c, handle of hair dryer all taped up, one small soap at sink (none in shower), one shampoo, no coffee for coffee-maker, and generally in very poor condition. It was clean and the view was beautiful. It's not right, however, that we were mislead by pictures and description on hotels.com website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff, helpful; very positive experience

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Very nice hotel, wonderful location: flowers, pool, jacuzzi- not in town, about 20 mn from Heredia. Very nice staff (especially Angela :), good food.