Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rudolph from Boulder, Colorado

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had a double bed in a rather small room with a bath. Everything was very clean. We were in the older build, but it was very quiet.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Plano, TX

Picturesque

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Room was small, but clean. Could not have been more picturesque, located up in the snow-covered mountains. We stayed in the annex. Our room overlooked the street directly across from the church. Food downstairs was outstanding. Service was also very friendly and accommodating. Bathroom small, but very clean, outfitted with modern fixtures.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Chapala, Mexico

Quiet and bucolic setting in the countryside

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
It was a last minute booking on a car trip to be able to see the Wagner Museum in nearby Bayreuth, so we stayed in the country for the quiet and the view which this hotel definitely had! The food in the nearby restaurant was excellent. We spoke to guests who come back every year for the spa and curative treatments the hotel also offers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel, staff indifferent.

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Internet was faulty. I asked to see if if it could be fixed and waited 30 mn. After a while I went downstairs and finally decided that nothing could be done so I had to walk to the other branch of the hotel to access the internet (a short walk, but after a day's work for a hotel you paid for you don't feel like doing that at 10:00 pm in the rain). Staff overall didn't really seem to be bothered.
5 out of 5
by Emma from Australia

Great little spot

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely place to stay - very friendly and accessible. Like all Deutsch hotels so far though, only one pillow and it wasn't comfortable. (That said, I didn't ask for a second pillow.) However, a beautiful little spot, very clean and the bed was comfortable. Restaurant was lovely too, downstairs. Great for a single night stayover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Twickenham GB

delightful hotel in a charming village

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful; the owners, Herr Puchtler and his sister, speak excellent English. The restaurant is very good.
Cons: I would have liked the means to make a hot drink in the room.
Location: In summer you can walk for miles up and down hill through the woods on a network of well signposted paths. There is a cablecar up the nearest big hill
I had a spotlessly clean bright spacious airy room (with bathroom) overlooking fields, woods and hills. The room rate which includes all the breakfast you can eat seemed to me very reasonable.
4 out of 5
by Susan Kunoth from Palos Verdes, California

Quaint and Unexpected

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
We were at this hotel in the off season, so were basically the only people there. The hotel is situated in a very quaint village and is perfect for anyone who is trying to get away from in all. The Gasthof Deutscher was great..... a fun place with great food!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Salem, Ohio

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels
It was a most delightful place to stay. It has the charm of days gone by, and excellant service from the staff. They go the extra mile to make your stay seem perfect. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a most relaxing visit to the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine Hotel near Bayreuth

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay the staff went the extra mile to make my stay most enjoyable.The prices are most reasonable and the food is quite good as well.