Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.V.

Fine older motel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: For the price, just about everything.
Cons: Actually, shower put out SO much water, the drain backed up. Don't think it was the drain, I think if they install water-saver heads, everyone wins!
Location: Great bakery, pizza, gateway to the eastern Sierra!!!
The Thunderbird is exactly what it says it is, a neat and clean place to stay while away from home. If one is expecting 5-star amenities, one is being extremely unrealistic. The bed was comfortable, four locks on the door, TV had lots of channels, room was pretty large and A/C worked great. There is a close ice machine and Bishop is a small town so everything is close and there was no need to think about the continental breakfast when an apple fritter is down the street. No complaints at all about this place at half the price of another chain motel in Bishop where I have stayed before and which was asking literally twice the price on this trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small, affordable, and great staff.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The rooms are small (3 people is a crowd) but it worked well for us. Very good location and the owner is very friendly. The is a fridge and microwave in the rooms and a good AC. The cleanliness wasn't great but not bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A Friendly Atmosphere with Comfort

Posted Jul 28, 2016
We've all probably had low expectations when trying out a new situation, however it's so very nice to be pleasantly surprised for a change. Because of the low cost of the room, we were picturing all kinds of problems with this booking. When we arrived we were greeted with a smiling face and friendly talk, the booking was simple and fast and we were given a choice of rooms. We were placed on the ground floor, in a quiet corner with a king sized bed. It was 106 degrees, so we turned on the AC as soon as we stepped in. In less than 2 minutes, that wonderful machine had our room comfortably cool, in fact it worked so well, we turned it down. The furniture was used but clean and the drawers were in good working order. There were 4 wall lights, a table/chairs settee, a wall shelf and luggage rack, plus a firm, clean bed with new pillows. The bathroom and sink were very clean, with no worn or rusty spots, and the sink drained quickly. I've been in very expensive hotels/motels where the sink would not drain and needed cleaning.......but not here. The towels were very clean and folded in triangle shapes. Also a small refrigerator was available, which we used in our two day stay. All in all, it was quiet, comfortable and very pleasing. Thank you to the hosts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly Helpful

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: A pleasant and friendly place to stag
A pleasant outlook onto a garden/seating area. The owners have taken trouble to decorate therooms like log cabins and they were clean and ccomfortable. The surrounding area is well kept with extra outdoor seating, bbqs etc. Also there are bird nesting boxes all around that were well occupied. There was a totem pole, small water feature and the owners vintage car to look at. Although no food available the owner gave good recommendations for local eateries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.D.

What I expected.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
If your just staying here for a bed and shower. It works just fine. Close to food and drink. I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Much better than expected.

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, spacious room, included refrigerator, plenty of towels, soap, and shampoo, new carpet. One block off the main drag so it was quiet.
Cons: Paint the outside a different color than plain white to make it look a little less dated.
Location: Plenty of restaurants within very short walking distance. Very nice scenic views of snow capped mountains.
The outside was outdated, but the inside was very nice. Very spacious, all new furnishings, carpet, bed was very comfortable, not as firm as my bed at home, where other reviewers complained about how firm it was. Plenty of towels, soap, and shampoo. The inside was at least 3 stars.
2 out of 5
by Kay from Las Vegas

sleepless in Bishop

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel advertised a Continental breakfast. All that was there to eat was dry cereal from plastic containers that were dirty and two apples left from the day before. The beds were like sleeping on a rock covered in plastic. I will not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OBX,NC

Good for the money

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The room was clean
Cons: The breakfast was terrible
For the money it was a place to rest your head. I had to goto the office three times to pay for the room. The office told me they would call me when to come and pay and they never did. The office smells bad and the breakfast that they advertised was a muffin,sunny D, and cereal with no milk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Find another place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: CLEAN THE BATHROOM
Bathroom was not clean hair on floor and in the tub. Coffee pot needed to be cleaned. We like firm beds but this one was like sleeping on a board. Parking was very tight . Bishop is always a stop over for us, but we will never stay there again. Glad that experience is over.
2 out of 5
by Chris from Chelan, WA

At least a place to sleep.

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Old facility at high cost! Although advertise a lot -- the continental breakfast was minimal. Noisy heater and blew always while turned on.