Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gleandale, CA

Nice weekend getaway

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The beds are actually quite comfortable and there was a microwave and refrigerator in the room which came in very handy.
Cons: Their could be some small upgrades such as a paint job, bedding, and shower curtains.
Location: It is located perfectly in the center of town, one half block off of main street. Very convenient to restaurants, bars, etc.
My girlfriend and I recently stayed here for 4 days over a holiday weekend. We love coming to Bishop because it is a small quiet town close to the mountains and lakes. We have stayed here before and find the hotel to fit our needs for what we are looking for. It is a basic motel, but it is comfortable and fairly clean and the family that own the motel are great people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Bear City, California

Great place. RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF TOWN.Perfect!!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Great location. Right in the middle of town.
Cons: Maybe more parking other then that everything was great!
Location: Close to the park, walked every where. Nice to be able to park the truck and walk.
The room was clean. The beds were comfy. the A/C worked great. Bathrooms were clean. Will come back next year for Bishop Mule Days! Had a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We'd stay again

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: It's Cheap, Clean, Quiet
Cons: Not that I can think of.
Location: It's off the main street, so it's quiet. Walking distance to a coffee shop and everything.
Thunderbird is cheap motel in the center of town, what's not to like? If you're in Bishop you're there to hike or fish. So, a motel needs a hot shower, comfortable bed and a television. It's got all three, and it's quiet, which I wasn't expecting. However, if you're in Bishop and want a nice fancy hotel then you should look elsewhere, but then why would you be in Bishop? We'll stay there again the next time we're in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was easy walking distance to town.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel was easy walking distance to town.
We needed to find a hotel in Bishop on Saturday night and the Thunderbird was reasonably priced. The hotel was ok, but I might try a different one and plan a little further ahead.
4 out of 5
by Duncan

Great place at the price.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel for an overnight o a road trip. Check in was quick and easy, parking is good, room is nicely updated, there's HBO on a good TV. The food selection on Mohave is limited but it's a very small town.
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
We were stopping for the night and this was right on our way. We were able to walk for dinner. Convenient and close to the main road. Only negative is the smell of cigarettes, but maybe we forgot to get a non smoking room. Everything else was fine for the deal we got and purpose intended just an overnight stay on our way to Mammoth lakes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cons: They need to buy new beds and new tv's.
The only nice thing about this place was the granite counter in the bathroom. Everything else was subpar. The beds in particular were hard with a plywood box for a boxspring. The breakfast areas was so small we just went to the coffee shop around the corner. We won't be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close enough to Mammoth but grim

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Nice owners but hotel is just a spot to sleep and go to the slopes. Thin bedding, broken curtain, goofy heater. Great neon sign that is very bright
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

So dirty

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Hair in coffe pot, bathtub didn't drain, stains everywhere, holes/rips in wallpaper, broken headboard, dead tv remote, funny smell
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Center of town

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: TV and cable worked well. Despite over condition the cleaning people are doing a great job.
Cons: Needs updating all the way around.
Location: Near to river and park.
Hard to find, parking lot ,to small. Carpets dirty and stained. Appears to be a roof leak over window. Heating unit was noisy. You can hear everything going on in next room. This place is OK if your on a tight budget.