Ratings based on 1,439 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Collins, CO

easy access to town.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Nice having denny's next door. Was kind of noisy at night. Early Monday Morning trash trucks (or some kind of lg truck) sounding backup beepers at 5 am. :-( I used to live in Bishop so I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. Price seemed kind of high for this hotel. It was nice they had laundry facilities and fish cleaning station. Might try something a little more updated next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean and walking around to everything .

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Stafford's nice, accommodating everything was what I expected to be
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Cons: Plumbing check on bath fixtures/better air conditioning system.
Location: Erick Shat's bakery - a great place to stop for breakfast. Unbelievable bakery. So many choices.
This is a typical 60s/70s hotel that's had some cosmetic improvements to make it look better; however, the shower pull didn't work properly (very hard to turn on) and the air conditioning unit is in the bathroom area so it really doesn't give much coverage in the area where the beds are located. Overpriced for what it is; however, when you're traveling on the 395 there aren't a lot of choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by fdm, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Than you for reviewing our wonderful property. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was not nice and comfortable. Thank you for letting us know of the issues you had. We do look forward to our guests feedback. We hope to get another chance to serve you better on your next visit to beautiful Bishop ,Ca. Have a terrific day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Nice and quiet hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The spa was perfect temp to soak your bones when tired after a long day and close to all things in town. Walking distance to go to dinner.
Cons: The screens on windows were bent up and keeping window from closing. Also extra inside door flip latch was broken. spa needs scum line cleaned.
Location: Everything was in walking distance to all kinds of restaurant's. We stayed in Bishop to go fishing up the 168 west. Very convenient.
We were located next to a Denny's that was in walking distance. Hotel also gave us 10% off our Denny's bill. Our pool was not heated but was good enough since it is a hot location. The spa tub was nice and new and 104 degrees like it should be! We liked that a lot as a lot of hotels cater to the children and not the paying adult. The beds where very comfortable and the rooms were spacious and clean. The only thing that I found was the extra latch to door was broken even though you still had the dead bolt. Also our screen to the front window was bent on top and wouldn't allow the window to completely shut. I had to fix it so that the window could shut and not let warm air in and AC out. Noticed the room next to us had the same problem with the screen. The hotel should be on top of these. They are easy fixes. But over all I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by fdm, Hotel Management
Dear Leslie, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear your stay with us was nice and comfortable. Thank you for letting us know about the screens in some of the windows. We will take care of that. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Meridian, Idaho

Disappointing stay in Bishop

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See above
Location: Bishop is a nice town midway between Reno and L. A. and is located in the eastern Sierra's with lots to do in the outdoors.
The hotel was old and in need of a remodel. The parking lot was small and hard to maneuver around, especially with a motor home parked in a corner spot. It certainly wasn't worth what we paid to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by fdm, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, Thank you for reviewing our wonderful property. Sorry you did not care for our recently remodeled rooms. We are still in the process of renovating the outside. We hope you will come back in the future and see the improvements we are working on. Have a fantastic day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TERRIBLE Customer Service

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: EVERYTHING
When we arrived at the hotel it was 1:30 pm and when I walked thru the door the lady at the counter said we don't have any rooms available yet come back in two hours.... I said excuse me, we have a reservation and she said OK well your room is not guaranteed until after 3:00 pm so come back in two hours... She was sooooo RUDE...we went an ate lunch and came back at 3:00 pm and were told that our room still was not ready and that she did not know when it would be so she took our phone number and said she would call us when it was.... I will never stay there again and we frequent Bishop very much
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by fdm, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. Sorry about your check in experience. We hope we get another chance to serve you again the future. have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Front desk manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sedona

Ecliipse special

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Convirnt forcar
Hotels sold out early on the way to Oregon. All the newerotels booked. We like older motor courts and this was fine for one night sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by fdm, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles, Ca

Good hotel next to Denny's for Breakfast

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Enjoyed my stay at the Vagabond, when I walked in I was impressed how clean it was. At night the beds were very comfortable. Would have liked to take the bed home, it is better than my own bed. Some of us are not too steady on our feet and would have liked a bar in the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by fdm, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a comfortable nights sleep. Thank you for the suggestion of a bar in our shower. We will look into that. We hope to get another chance to serve you again. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Television did not work at all, and there were crickets crawling up the wall behind the bed. When I discussed this with the manager they said there was nothing they could do and only offered a 20% discount. I feel $154.00 is still too much for a room with no TV and insects crawling inside. We could have stayed at a $60 hotel for similar conditions. I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by fdm, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Likens, Thank you for reviewing our property again. Again, sorry you were not happy with your stay. We hope to get another chance to serve you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Typical American Motel. Very comfortable Bed

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great Motel, Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and well presented. Local facilities just down the road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by fdm, Hotel Management
Dear julian, Thank you for your review. The staff is very happy to hear your stay with us was nice and comfortable. We all look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager