Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
14% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, PA

Won't be back!

Posted Nov 3, 2011
Location: In town for wedding, didn't see too much of the town.
The motel has an excellent location for the Bishopville, SC area, but the maintenance of the facility is sadly lacking: Toiet paper holder and towel rack in bathroom very loose on wall almost falling off. Room sworming with houseflies. ( ask for fly spray and was told they didn't have any - Went to store and bought a can myself) Heat/AC unit could not adjust heat, knob missing However, this unmaintained room, other than the flies was clean. The rate paid was the web posted price, no savings through expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel was conveniently located but was without a doubt the dirtiest room I've ever seen. There were fleas, the carpet made your feet black if you walked barefoot, the exterior lights were burned out and it was very scary checking in after dark. I will never stay at this hotel again and probably will never stay at another Econolodge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Badly in need of renovation!

Posted Jul 7, 2011
Check in was a breeze and the manager was extremely courteous and efficient. The problems began once I got into the room. The light above the sink did not work. Also, the toilet would not flush. There was a small fridge in the room, but no microwave. I returned to the front office. The new manager on duty gladly moved me to another room. Unfortunately, I couldn't get into that room because the key cards did not work. I returned to the front desk and was given two new key cards. I was told that the green light may not come on, but if i listened closely I would be able to hear the electronic lock disengage. I returned to the room and indeed the green did not work. After several tries, alternating between the 2 cards, it unlocked. Once in the room, I was happy to find the light over the sink and the toilet in working order and a microwave atop the fridge. However, the base of the toilet seemed rusted and the floor beneath rotted away. So that when you sat on the toilet it rocked. Though extremely clean, the rest of the bathroom was worn, rusted and peeling. it looked like many patch jobs had been performed. It was cosmetically a disaster. Getting over that and finally getting to bed, there was a low spot in the mattress that I kept rolling into. It was obviously the favorite side of the bed for many many guests. This was not a good hotel experience for me. Even by "economy" hotel standards, this was a subpar hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duck Ditch, South Carolina

It's better than.......

Posted May 10, 2011 on Hotels
It's better than sleeping in the mud at Darlington. The shower was grubby, but it beat not having a shower. The mattress was lumpy, but was more comfortable than the bed of a pick-up truck. The in room refrigerator was broken, but the ice machine worked. The cable and wireless internet worked fine. It's sort of like staying at your red neck cousin's house - you wouldn't want to live like that day to day, but they're doing the best they can, and you appreciate having a place to sleep for the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2011 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand rapids,MI

Will never stay at this hotel again!!

Posted Apr 22, 2010
This hotel gets a thumbs down in most cases! I would not recommend it to any one i know !!! IThe manager of the hotel would not even talk to us after we had the clerk to contact him ( and he was in the building) He refused to come to talk to us in person!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York


Posted Apr 14, 2010
The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself needs to be updated and they should only use certain rooms for pets so that all the rooms do not smell as if a dog has been in the rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte


Posted Apr 4, 2009 on Hotels
Fix the Ice machine, put coffe pots and microwaves in the rooms and you would be right on par with all the other budget hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice price

Posted May 14, 2008 on Hotels
very convient for darlington racefans. very nice, excellent price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Room for the Money

Posted May 14, 2008 on Hotels
This hotel is great for the price. It is right off the interstate and has several restaurants in walking distance as well as gas stations. If you need somewhere to stay for a great price, this is the place to go.