Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely stay in Varna in November

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and location.
Cons: Nothing. Our experience was very enjoyable.
Location: This hotel is in the centre of town. You can visit museums, Roman remains, the beach and the parks etc. food and drink are very cheap.
we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The location in the centre of Varna is excellent, easy to find and easy to travel from the airport on the local bus. There are good restaurants nearby as well as in the hotel. We enjoyed our breakfast. we had a superior room, which was very nice, with a spacious area for sitting. The fridge was well stocked but it did lack a kettle. The bathroom worked and the shower was great, with lovely warm water. The staff are amazing and so helpful. This enhanced our holiday. We highly recommend this hotel. The beds are very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Top floor luxury in historic hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Close to beach, really enjoyed Archaeological Museum, lots of shopping, lots of restaurants, several churches nearby. Park good walking & sculptures.
We were upgraded to room on top floor with balcony overlooking plaza. Room was huge with sitting area separate from bed area. Good elevator but mostly used marble staircase. Furniture & paintings added to historic ambience. Big bathroom with good shower, magnifying mirror & tub (first in Bulgaria) We had issues with wifi on our floor but worked in bar & staff great. Easy walking distance to Varna sites & beach. Very nice hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were simply wonderful when I arrived. They area very professional and polite and try hard to help you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Location, central but Quiet location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Oveall good hotel. Brakfast is good, but lacks variety! Exactly the same thing everyday! Some imagination is needed. Rooms are excellent, but the passage to the room is dark and often cluttered with the deck for cleaning materials which gives the impression as if i am entering the room through the storage!
5 out of 5
by Douglas from San Diego

Great Hotel, Great Location

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very nice stay. Unfortunately the electricity went out in our room the second day but the staff managed to jerryrig an extension cord that allowed us to have a lamp and able to use our chargers. They also gave us a rebate on our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.

It couldn't be any better

Posted May 5, 2016
Ideally located at the city center near most attractions, restaurants, stores etc., it's very easy to park. The staff is beyond efficient and always very friendly. I am a Man who requires a high level of services and they positively surprised me with it. Notwithstanding, on my friend's birthday, we were surprised with a butler and a lady bringing to our room a bday cake and other treats. Again, a new pleasant surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A city break with a difference

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: A small hotel with character, good breakfasts, caring staff and high quality rooms.
Cons: one or two buildings in the area are being refurbished and it will be better for that
Location: A great central location, good for seeing the city's main sights and dining outside. A walk along the pedestrian zone leads to the sea park and beach.
The hotel is well positioned just off the pedestrianized centre and close to the opera house square with its musical fountain. Good, inexpensive restaurants are close by. The beaches and parks just inland from them are a pleasant walk away. The area seemed very popular with locals, particularly families. The dolphin show was well worth seeing. There is a big shopping mall, reachable on foot if you don't mind walking. The port area is built up and not attractive - better to stick to the beaches, parks and city centre.
5 out of 5
by William

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Great and charming hotel. Wonderful service. They upgraded us to a suite with a balcony overlooking a pedestrian street. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by Nomthandazo from Johannesburg, South Africa

Great hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very quiet and elegant hotel. Perfect for the family or business
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay there again

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
They have tried to recreate the art noveau style of the 1912 hotel. Staff was very good. Breakfast was very good. Location was very good.