Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Blackburn FC

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Room very hot and noise from road constant all night so didn't sleep very well with window open.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wigan

Typical Lodge, bit worn, but comfortable.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: good location, and felt secure. Bright spacious room.
Cons: Lack of customer care in Pub restaurant and Reception closed even someone was behind the closed hatch!
Location: Opposite Ewood Park, Blackburn Rovers Football Ground, convenient for M65 and Motorway network
Arrived 2:15 , hoped to drop stuff off as check in shown as from 2:00, was told room wasn't quite ready, but lovely helpful housekeeper completed room in what seemed like seconds. Room was spotless, spacious, nice and bright and comfortable. Bathroom clean. Bar had 4 handpumps for real Ale, (Greene King standard Brands) however 3 turned round, 2 hours later the fourth had "gone" and no attempt to change any of the Casks. Good sleep in comfortable bed, bit of road noise from about 6:30, conflicting information about breakfast on site, said weekends only, but was offered it at check in and decided not to try. Check out by 10:30, but I left earlier. Used Hotel Car Park at the back/side of Pub with barrier to exit, however no instructions to say you needed a token to get out, asked in Pub told they didn't have any but there was a box by reception, went back to Reception but no box to be seen, fortunately a helpful lad was tidying the car park otherwise the 10 minute delay would have been frustratingly longer! Overall a reasonable stay for £50 cost. Better than a Travelodge not as good as a Premier, you get what you pay for and maybe slightly more?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Stafford

Local and Convenient

Posted May 5, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Locality, facilities and ease of access.
Cons: Plumbing, curtains.
I was visiting Blackburn for business and needed a local hotel to travel from first thing in the morning. I found the Fenhurst on the internet and it was reasonably priced with a chain pub attached that did decent food, so I made my reservation. The room was clean and spacious with a plentiful supply of tea and coffee. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean and well presented. I had a slightly disturbed night due to noisy vibrating plumbing and a curtain that didn't quite keep the morning sun out, but it was generally good. Despite being on an A road, the noise was minimal. The evening meal and breakfast in the attached pub were of a good standard but the staff on breakfast duty need to smile and practice their pleasantries!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has gone down hill

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I stay here regular but gone down in my estimations. First of all not given a key then 3 times I had to get my card for room changed as it wasn't working the room wasn't properly cleaned and window wouldn't close. My mobile or my friends wouldn't work in room. The staff were more interested in the bar than the hotel. Service in bar and restaurant was appalling and tables weren't cleared away after use to let others be seated . Will seriously think twice before booking again xx
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Close to a pub.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Shower curtain was dirty, place just needs a good clean and a little investment to just raise the level. Good location well priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

convenient for work

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: convenience of late booking for work.
Cons: receptionist dedicated to the hotel and not too the pub leaving one stood hanging around waiting.
Location: Ewood park football stadium. Blackburn and Oswaldtwistle mill and Boundary mill for shopping. Hungry horse Pub next door with a kids menu and play are
overnight stay due to car problems and need to stay over in Blackburn, Had to ring a pub phone at the Hungry Horse for someone to attend check in. very basic clean room was cold and couldn't find a thermostat. reception is apparently manned overnight until 7am. Cannot confirm that as i did not leave the room. felt very impersonal. comfortable bed and lighting with tea and coffee. good hairdryer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good Hotel - Good Price - Great Location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Just what I ordered, great staff, great location, great value for money. Location is great for access to the M65
Friendly staff, clean room, well equipped, good location. Not much else to say about the Fernhurst, but definitely recommend to others. Only down side was no food available, but that was due to a refurbishment being undertaken, and had been highlighted when booking - so no problems, but hence why only 4 on hotel facilities..
2 out of 5
by ian

Average

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
No place to eat in the hotel which shut for refurbished and painting going on when we arrived which was not advised in making a booking at the time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Probably for the place and price, it was just about okay. The room was good. But the lodge is attached to the pub, so pub food for dinner. Where local lads come to get drunk ! Breakfast was really poor. I asked for hot water for tea and was told that there is no hot water ! A kettle cost less than a tenner. Buy one. The scrambled eggs were absolutely dry and rubbery ! Will not stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a refit

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Place was run down. Cobwebs in rooms. Mouldy shower curtain. Lights in room's not working. Not a good place to stay