Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: quiet
Cons: better breakfast
great room clean and quiet pity about the underwhelming breakfast £12 each expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
by martyn

ok

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel room spacious, clean and comfortable but decor is quite dated. restaurant service quite poor. cutlery at evening meal was dirty. Meal ok but nothing special. plates stacked at breakfast for continental buffet were all dirty. Not great info from serving staff at breakfast, " what do you want" without any menus present and no info about the help yourself stuff in the other room, table not fully set. Full breakfast would have been nice but beans and mushrooms were cold. Pastries were stale, no serving tongs for pastries on second day. Location was good for my needs but wouldn't bother with breakfast id i stayed again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017
Dear Martyn, Thank you for your review as we do value all comments and I will certainly be following up on the issues that you encountered regarding the breakfast - please accept my apologies that this service was not up to standard. I sincerely hope that you do visit us again to enable us to prove to you that we do usually offer a high standard of service throughout. You will have noticed that currently our restaurant is being refurbished which is due for completion at the end of the month so I hope you do come again. Kind Regards Jean Haigh
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Reunion dinner

Posted May 22, 2017
Fantastic attention to detail. Exceeded all expectations around the dinner event. Well prepared and great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comments we do hope that you will return to us on a future date. Kind Regards Jean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ribble Valley getaway weekend

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Good location for exploring the local area. Friendly staff. No evening meal taken but breakfast an expensive supplement disappointment.
4 out of 5
by fryerwood from Colchester

Just right

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
As with all hotels nothing is perfect but friendly attentive staff make a real difference
4 out of 5
by Victoria

Comfortable adequate stay

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
The best thing about the hotel is the size of the superior room. Living area, bedroom and bathroom with shower and bath. The 'leisure club' was poor, there was a small room next to the pool with out of date rusty gym equipment. Pool, sauna and steam room were as expected. Hotel was dated but is currently being refurbished. Certain corridors smelt stale and unpleasant. Overall an adequate stay, would not return, but it served its purpose. Staff were very friendly and helpful, always there if needed.
3 out of 5
by D E

not good! in fact avoid!

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
not very pleasant, definitely in need of a good refurb, spa facilities are terrible, un-safe, and very dirty! room mouldy, and found a finger nail on the toilet! also broken tap, (also not safe for children) paint work is also very bad condition. Will not stay again, unless it was free!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super large rooms

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Not the most modern decor but for the price of a standard room in any other hotel I got a bedroom, a bathroom with bath & separate shower and a living room with sofa, chair and dining table. Both the bedroom and the lounge had TVs too. That makes this hotel really good value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
On entering the room it was freezing and phoned reception, they stated the heating had just been turned on and should be warm in about an hour. You had to run the hot tap for about 10 minutes before you got any warm water. I was woken up with a banging on the door at 5am by a hotel staff member who was very rude and told me to turn my music or TV down as next door was complaining about the noise (the lights were off in our room along with the TV or any other possible noise problems) It was as if he did not believe me and wanted to come into the room to check even though my wife was still asleep in bed. The noise did stop when he knocked on the door of a room on the floor below however !! I would advise anybody contemplating stopping in this hotel to remember Fawlty Towers on TV because this place is worse NEVER AGAIN !!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels