Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Lovely hotel, needs updating,

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Very pleasant setting and staff very nice
Cons: See above, needs updating
Location: Good location
Beautiful setting and hotel, needs to be updated, room ok, bathroom is a quite grim, needs refreshing and new showers as they are slow or in the case of our other family member, the shower didn't work at all, breakfast area very small and slow for such a big restaurant, waited quite a while in queue for breakfast, the hotel really could be amazing, overall a pleasant stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Attended a wedding

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Comfy room although outside main building. Front desk didn’t seem to have staff at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

Terrible

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The hotel was terrible. It’s very old. I had to walk outside in the rain to get to and from my hotel to restaurant. The floor is creaky and makes a lot of loud noise when people walk upstairs which is very disturbing. I got a call waking me up on the hotel phone at 7am just to hear a hello. After travelling 200 miles I was disappointed It was clean. Did have facilities that were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wirral

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Excellent spa and wonderful staff. Rooms a bit tired but clean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Leon

Poor Reception Again

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Every time I use this hotel the Reception is poor. It is too small to cope with such a large hotel and the number of guests. If there are more than three guests checking in the reception area is crowded, and with other checked in guests with problems to sort out it becomes a long wait to be served. The spa/leisure area was busy and the changing rooms were water-logged after so many wet people passing through plus an abundance of used towels strewn everywhere. The room was clean and has a large bathroom (with bath and not just a shower). The bed was very comfortable. The windows are old and could do with being replaced as they don't shut properly. The breakfast is always good in this hotel, is a-la-carte, with plenty to choose from. The service is excellent but there are lots of guests packed in and it is very crowded at times.
4 out of 5
by Darlene

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Advertised with air con but room didn't have any and the window was tiny
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
I quite enjoyed the hotel however the food can be better especially the potato chips that they gave us tasted like it was from the morning and they warmed it up. It was not fresh at all. With the staff 2 Indian originated staff one at the reception one in the restaurant were very friendly and service oriented. The rest could try to smile a bit more since it is hospitality service. I like the atmosphere of the hotel and it was quite clean. The other thing is they sell the water l understand they don't want to provide complimentary water but it would be reachable for the customers when they want to drink it. All they need to do is to put a price tag on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel near to all places we visited.

Posted May 30, 2017
Enjoyed every minute. Met up with family who are still living in the area.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

Nice hotel, but!!

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel, good size room but quite a way from the bar and health club, terrible night's sleep due to no air con and uncomfortable bed. Very clean bathroom though not so hot and supplying the correct amount of towels etc. Nice lawn areas to sit and enjoy the sunshine.