Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Some of the bedrooms need updating, staff are friendly, food good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Room73

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Total reburbish of the older rooms
Location: Beautiful setting ...
Room 73 was unfortunately the room we spent our stay in..It had a strange old musty smell..like old cigarette smoke...Our bed was 2 single beds pushed together and there was a notice difference in mattress height and quality...The drain pipe outside the bathroom window continually gushed with water all night .. The towels where hard and the hand towel was smaller than a standard tea towel...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Hotel Soa

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Checkout was disappointing. Was not asked about my stay. Unable to have shower in bath area as was a convex bath which unstable to shower and very slippy. No mat provided despite this. No paper receipt provided at check out ! Apparently they have gone paperless. For the cost of a printer !!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Lovely hotel, needs updating,

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Very pleasant setting and staff very nice
Cons: See above, needs updating
Location: Good location
Beautiful setting and hotel, needs to be updated, room ok, bathroom is a quite grim, needs refreshing and new showers as they are slow or in the case of our other family member, the shower didn't work at all, breakfast area very small and slow for such a big restaurant, waited quite a while in queue for breakfast, the hotel really could be amazing, overall a pleasant stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Attended a wedding

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Comfy room although outside main building. Front desk didn’t seem to have staff at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

Terrible

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The hotel was terrible. It’s very old. I had to walk outside in the rain to get to and from my hotel to restaurant. The floor is creaky and makes a lot of loud noise when people walk upstairs which is very disturbing. I got a call waking me up on the hotel phone at 7am just to hear a hello. After travelling 200 miles I was disappointed It was clean. Did have facilities that were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wirral

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Excellent spa and wonderful staff. Rooms a bit tired but clean
5 out of 5
by Michael

Buisness trip 1 night.

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice clean and comfortable hotel. Helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Leon

Poor Reception Again

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Every time I use this hotel the Reception is poor. It is too small to cope with such a large hotel and the number of guests. If there are more than three guests checking in the reception area is crowded, and with other checked in guests with problems to sort out it becomes a long wait to be served. The spa/leisure area was busy and the changing rooms were water-logged after so many wet people passing through plus an abundance of used towels strewn everywhere. The room was clean and has a large bathroom (with bath and not just a shower). The bed was very comfortable. The windows are old and could do with being replaced as they don't shut properly. The breakfast is always good in this hotel, is a-la-carte, with plenty to choose from. The service is excellent but there are lots of guests packed in and it is very crowded at times.