Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

A basic no frills room on the seafront

Posted Oct 3, 2017
We only wanted a crash pad for 1night so just needed somewhere clean and quiet. Quiet: yes it was. So quiet that on first impressions the hotel looks deserted- No reception staff, restaurant shut. Clean: it was ok. The decoration is so tired though. Value for money: for what we needed, it was suitable. Suggestions: that staff pay attention to the little things. Check and replace bulbs, and batteries (Tv remote). Plumbing-No hot water in sink. All easy to fix if you notice them and it seems a shame to let these things spoil your rating. (and please sort out with Expedia about breakfast included or not to save embarrassment) The Hotel staff member we spoke to was lovely and very helpful. Thank you :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London area

My stay was not what I expected.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
The website is excellent but my room and my mate's were not No hot water . But apparently no one but us reported it.! Our rooms were on opposite ends of the building No wardrobe. No Central heating, only an electric heater you would not leave on when out or asleep .A window that would not shut. My friend did not even have an electric heater. A lift that failed with my friend in it and failed to work on demand. No night porter if needed No details for finding A&E or a local pharmacy etc. No instructions about emergency exits from and no contact number Fire doors that we wedged open. Our rooms were to small for the beds in them. My TV was too small. My friend had no seat to sit on to watch TV. His room slept 3 persons yet nowhere to store clothes or suitcases. On departing none of our issues were mentioned by the staff. That annoyed me as well. I have paid less for better and wish I had paid more for better. Breakfast was not included for my £57 a night . We had that in an excellent cafe come fish restaurant 3 minutes away . I am unhappy because I expect hot water a big enough room and soap etc in the shower. I took my own bur that is not the point. The door had to be locked from the inside with the key which needed to be removed from.the door. Not good in an emergency in the dark when trying to escape. The lock was not secure in my opinion. I kept my valuables with me. Lastly my room was not attended to between nights so no fresh coffee for the second night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B68 9ts

Disappointing stay

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Firstly I was charged 3 weeks before arriving despite opting to pay at hotel on arrival. After several calls to expedia the money was not returned by the hotel. Arrived 23rd Sept at 2.20pm, we spent 15 min outside calling for someone to let us in.was told that check in was 3. We left out bags and ventured out. On return at 6.45, we was outside a further 10 min trying to get in. We booked a family room costing £120 for 3 adults. Room had a nice view but was small and dusty. There was no hot water in sink. Room had small double and bunk beds. No 1 can access top bunk as ladders pushed against wall. Mattresses are lumpy and squeak. None of us slept, worst bed I have slept in. My car battery was flat on leaving and asked hotel to help, was told they was going out but can borrow leads if I can find someone else to help.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malta

terribly small rooms, not clean, beds undone

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: my 5 years old daughter liked the bunk bed but we spent a sleepless night in it
Cons: all
Location: not even too close to main amenities but close enough to the seafront
room was tiny and we had to sleep in a very uncomfortable squeeky bunk bed. initial picture looked nice but once there the conditions were shocking. beds weren't even done and we wondered if the sheets had already been used. we had to leave after our first night despite we already paid. that's how bad it was. breakfast wasn't too bad but overall it was terrible
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochdale

Hotel well situated.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating, and well situated near Bispham which we enjoy.
Cons: There was a very strange odour in the room, which even though I left the window open most of the day and night did not go away. Perhaps a plug in
Location: Near to the Highlander Pub and an excellent Indian restaurant Spicy Grill which used to be the Curry queen.
Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating, although I was disappointed with the room, I did get all my requests, king size bed and also a sea view. I forgot to tick the box which would have provided me with a complimentary breakfast and because of this I would have had to pay. There was a very strange odour in the room, which even though I left the window open most of the day and night did not go away. Perhaps a plug in air freshener or stronger fabric softener would help, but it was not pleasant. The room itself was clean but basic. Would not stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location - just what we were looking for

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Clarity on paperwork re board basis
Location: Good, on the seafront and close to tram station. Lovely good value meal at Bispham kitchen
Location suited us, quieter area and easy off street parking on the side streets. Room as expected, Good value and offered one night weekend stay during the illuminations. Wifi did not work in our room - suspect it only works in lounge area and not the rooms. Think we also missed out on our breakfast. Paperwork taken did not specifically indicate breakfast was included. Asked owners who said it was room only but on return home and looking again - breakfast was included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south yorks

spot on!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Can't fault this place, friendly staff, warm rooms and a cracking breakfast
3 out of 5
by Lesley

Great service from the owner but hotel is outdated

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Disappointing that the sea view was partially blocked by scaffolding, but that was just unavoidable timing for me. The room was very outdated and smaller and less comfortable than I had expected and it was quite noisy, as I could hear snoring from another room and people coming and going into their rooms at night. It is not really convenient to sit in the small lobby or the cafe to get internet access, so it would be better if they could boost the signal to reach all the rooms. The owner was super nice and friendly though and was very available, which helped to make up for the negative aspects of the room. Great location.
2 out of 5
by derek

Poor rooms & no response to complaint

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel in a great location, We booked two upgraded double rooms one with sea view. However when we arrived we were allocated one family room with bunk beds and a very small double which was not what we booked and certainly not as shown in the photos, after looking on the website we could see there must have been a mistake on the small room as this was the basic double. Both rooms were very cold, we had to ask for additional heaters. One arrived, one did not (not sure where we would have put in the small room!). This did spoil the weekend and was hanging over us. both bathrooms were small, one very small touching sink whilst on loo! Breakfast was good but very busy. I did email to ask owners to look into our concerns, I received an email saying they would look into, but to date not had a response. Very disappointed. For a newly advertised hotel, with great website and offering the world, and a lovely location, not at all impressed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very pleasant, very clean, very welcoming

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Famille. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Although the exterior of the hotel didn't look anything special, the interior was well looked after being nicely decorated and furnished and kept immaculately clean, something which I find very important when staying away from home. We will definitely return next time we visit Blackpool and will definitely be recommending it to family & friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for a fab review. The exterior of the hotel is being refurbished over winter. We are working hard on the interior, and we have had some great feedback on what we have achieved so far. We appreciate every single review which we share with our team daily. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again, thanks also for the recommendations to your friends and family :)