Ratings based on 895 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs major overhaul

Posted Sep 18, 2017
50 characters us not enough to inform anyone of how bad the state if the hotel is!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from knottingley

Rude staff

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Arrived at reception to check in put a request in for walk in shower due to partners disability and staff said sorry no walk in showers available. Also telephone in room wasn't working. Dust all over the room wasn't even cleaned properly. Staff are also very rude. I would advise guests not to stay here
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blackburn

Faded glory.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The unique facade of the building, plenty of parking space, located on the seafront with good transport links.
Cons: The whole place needs a facelift but it would be very expensive as the hotel is so huge.
Location: The hotel is situated between Cleveleys and Bispham with a tram stop at the front of the hotel enabling easy travel into Blackpool or Fleetwood.
Very run down, lift not working and stairs needed a good vacuum. Bedroom small and bed uncomfortable, got little sleep. Bed seemed small for a double with only one bedside table. No chair in room and television difficult to watch from bed. Breakfast could have been better for the thick end of £9, very greasy. Wanted to know what time the illuminations would be switched on so as to plan our tram trip, but staff were unable to offer more than a guess and told me they come on when it goes dark. I never would have thought of that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dump left back in time.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
What a dump. Had to beg to be included in the evening meal. Some people were only allowed to feed there kids and they could not eat. Telephone in my room had no place to connect to so when at 02.30 am I was awakened with a fire alarm I was not able to call reception and had to walk down the stairs to be told it was kids playing that set off the alarm. The car park and entrance was full of cigarette buts and so much litter it was hard to step over. Felt sorry for the lovely staff. They tried so hard to help
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from widnes

Posted Sep 3, 2017
This hotel is disgusting, room was filthy beds uncomfy, toe nails on the bed side cabinets. Dirt under the beds. Don't stop here
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

Don't drink the tea at breakfast!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Shabby needs a total refurb. Expensive for what you get. Rooms old and outdated. Carpets smelly. Just wouldn't go there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The room was clean. The shower pressure was good and there was lots of hot water and plenty of towels. The beer was cheap.
Cons: Better cleaning in the public areas. Fix the broken / damaged furniture. Take down the posters that advertise bar food.
Location: The tram stop outside the hotel is handy and there are lots of trams running. The pleasure beach, arcades and tower are only a 20 minute tram away.
The outside looks dirty and run down, and your heart sinks when you arrive. If they don't care about outside appearances, you wonder what the inside is going to be like. The room had wallpaper paper peeling off the ceiling, suspicious red stains on the carpet (I think it was probably paint or make up) and we had a window that could only open a tiny amount. The window overlooked the roof and ducting, which had quite a bit of rubbish blown up there, so the view wasn't good. The bathroom door jammed every time we closed it, so we ended up leaving it open, to prevent us getting trapped in the loo. On the dressing table, one of the front of the drawers was coming off. Around the wardrobe door handles, the wood looked like it had been clawed, as there was no varnish left. It felt run down. The bathrooms in the public area we were in, were again, run down, with bins of hand towels overflowing. The pub advertised food on various posters around the site, but didn't serve any. The barman didn't believe me when I said food was advertised. The push plate on the door out of the dining room was grubby, and I couldn't bring myself to touch it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of a refurb

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very tired and basic, short of plug sockets. Plus points - across from tram stop, and cafe/kiosk is good idea but wouldn't go back till refurbished
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

not a stress free hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: the location area is quiet, and nice to have a view of the sea.
Cons: not having to go to receptions for things instead delivered to room, having more lifts, improving the cleanliness. making it more inclusive
Location: right next to the tram and bus stops plus shops close by.
entering the hotel i felt like i was going back in time where it needs to be refurnished and painted. only one lift and could be waiting a long time. being charged for wifi usage in room but free in lobby area also charged for ( a deposit ) for use of a an iron and ironing board and the leisure centre. was not happy that ii had to keep on going to the bar downstairs from room to get ice, it seem nobody could be bother or courtesy to bring to room.. it was nice having a kettle in the room, but an issue if its difficultly to add water from the bathroom tap had to use a cup to pout water from tap to kettle. not sure if the cups and glasses are change each day by staff in rooms , so had to buy washing up liquid etc plus had to buy a few groceries from local shops and the prices for food in the hotel is expensive, cheaper to go to outside restaurants or have a take away delivered to your room. not happy that rooms are not vacuum or trash taken out daily. plus not happy that the communal areas and lift are very dirty and not cleaned dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Desperately in need of TLC

Posted Aug 26, 2017
First impression didn't impress - cigarette butts piled high in the car park, disused pond & weeds in carpark. Flaky paint & signs missing from the walls...... Internally, no better. Corridors were filthy, with litter & food crumbled into the carpets. One stairwell looked like it was derelict, with plaster coming off the walls - someone had written 'Help Me' on the wall, which says it all. Bedroom was clean, but we didn't have enough towels for us all. The room was sold to me as having 2 single beds & a double. It had a double, single & an ancient camp bed. Not impressed & would never return.