Ratings based on 975 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johnstone Scotland

poor old hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The entertainment and car parking
Cons: Decent staff.
Location: Far out from the resort centre which means that if you want to eat out you have to drive or use public transport.
At check-in the gentleman on reception was more interested in a young lady than advising myself about the hotel and breakfast facilities.We found that most of the staff were very unhelpful and one barmaid who was at the only bar that was opened due to the tills being down was downright cheeky to me.The only thing that this hotel has going for it is car parking and the entertainment.I will not be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

More like a care home for the elderly

Posted Nov 9, 2017
It is okay if you are over 65. Full of sleeping guests everywhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Appalling

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Food was reasonable
Cons: CLeanliness vastly needs bringing upto date
Location: Nothing close by. Day saver ticket for trams best deal. Only £4.25 and valid for 24 hrs
2hrs to check in, dirty stained duvets, covers on inside out, Dusty skirting boards. Noisy air conditioning units overnight Lift floor warps
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicester

Good location but sadly lacks the wow factor

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Good car parking nice location friendly staff
Cons: Dining room should not after queue for long periods to get your dinner
Location: I have family nearby so the location is good for us quite tram stop across the road
Basic hotel nice location but lacks something dining room having to queue for your dinner I think needs addressing rooms need upgrading but overall we had a nice stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucester, England

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Our room was cramped and shabby. There was very little room to move around the bed. We will not book in to this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
I had stayed at the Norbreck castle yrs ago and was a nice stay. This time I think it needs freshening up and a coat of paint. Rooms aren't great and didnt eat there so not sure of the food. The fire alarms went off at 11.55pm jot sure what caused them to go off, At 2.30am we got woke up by what sounded like a football team in the next room, it woke us both up and my daughter. Hotel staff came and removed some of them quite quickly. We was up and checked out for 8.00am. We won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Close to tram access and beach

Posted Oct 30, 2017
My daughter, granddaughter and myself have tried to make visiting the lights during the October half term holiday a regular yearly thing. We have stayed in the Norbreck Castle Hotel before so knew what we would be going to. Although the general look in terms of decor is in need of some TLC the overall welcome and service totally meets the need for a short stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dinnington uk

Very unkempt

Posted Oct 30, 2017
First thing I saw was the sign on the hotel which read ‘ORBRECK STLE’ and tha summed it up. It was probably very nice in 1974, but hasn’t seen a vacuum cleaner since 1985. Everywhere you looked was shabby, the fire alarm went off around midnight, and we didn’t see a single member of staff to help, reassure or organise anyone... all the staff we encountered where quite rude, never again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Really poor

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Family of 4 booked - only a double & single provided. Had to request another bed, camp bed provided which collapsed twice in the night. Had to put mattress on floor. Room was extremely dated, threadbare carpets, sink that didn’t drain, uncomfortable beds, only 2 towels for 4 people provided, noisy because the window was broken so wind whistled all night. Requested change of room for second night which was slightly better. I was 1 of 3 families complaining at reception to disinterested staff who told me to check out immediately after the first night if I wanted a refund. Fire alarm went off several times during the nights - apparently due to a fault?? - and families were stuck on the car park in the middle of the night. I had paid £260 for the privledge of spending two nights in this terrible hotel. Avoid at all costs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Overpriced and dated hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Very shabby hotel in desperate need of decorating and updating - family room awful - fold up bed so unfortunately for my son. Bar only accepts cash no cards