Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wallasey

it's ok

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Check in good, paid for sea view room and although it was the room was tiny with a small window flanked by bay windows so not much view, we had an emergency so had to leave around 7pm but no-one in reception so just posted keys
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from larkhall

Rubbish

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Arrived at 1pm was told room no ready. It was 3.30 when we where allowed to go to grubby room. Toilet and bath full of cracks. Next day breakfast terrible. Will never return to this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bolton

Dreadful

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Dirty rooms smelt musty and bed felt damp towels were all stained staff in restaurant unhelpful
2 out of 5
by Kevin

NOT the worst Hotel I have stayed in.

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
We had a problem checking in because somewhere the booking was processed in our first names without my last name. The night Porter was a star and got us sorted. On opening the bathroom door we were assaulted by the smell of drains. It became apparent this was caused by back feed from other showers, our shower drain spent all the time bubbling back, hence the smell. I could go on about the room but it has already been mentioned, but housekeeping wasn't a strong point. I thought having a 'Restaurant' in the Hotel would mean we could have a meal and a bottle of wine to celebrate our anniversary. Wrong, you have to book and pay in advance for your fixed menu evening meal. When I spoke to the staff working in the restaurant they were a bit 'short' with me. So we set off to find somewhere to eat. If there had been information about the hotel in the room I would have known this. Breakfast was good. But again no info, 08:30hrs was a bit late to start serving when much of the food was put out earlier, I had stuck my head in at 07:30hrs. It was like queuing for School dinners. We were not allowed in until spot on 08:30hrs. 10 years ago this hotel would have been good. Housekeeping don't appear to visit the rooms unless you are checking out. They don't do a lot then, either. Frankly the staff are pretty good but the premises are outdated. And need some maintenance. Soap dish had corrosion looked awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dumfries and Galloway

weekend break

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Had a pleasant stay basic ,suited our needs clean we brought our dog handy for beach 15 min walk to North peer. Staff lovely friendly excellent value great wee breakfast lovely hot nice cup tea plenty to eat .basic no frills spotless .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but nothing outstanding

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
OK but nothing outstanding. Room small but clean and tidy. Reception, bar etc well presented, but decor gets more dated as you climb to higher floors. How does such a small lift make so much noise?? I was three rooms away, so must have been terrible in the room next door... Didn't do breakfast as it was too late for when I needed to leave.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle uk

*************** WORST HOTEL EVER ***************

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: nothing was only there 2 hours
Cons: Everything, Management is a disgrace along with the hotel, should be taken off Expedia
Location: location a bit out of the way, away from all the good places far away from better hotels
This is a geniune review i have records of all conversations and emails if you think im being slanderous! Room 316 9th aug 2017 My partner and i often stay in blackpool and at a last minute booking we chose "THE NEW PRESIDENT HOTEL"...BIG MISTAKE! The photo's shown on their site and booking site show lovely rooms and bathrooms, jetted baths, free parking and pictures of a swimming pool which we later found out was at the hilton not onsite, we thought WOW that looks fantastic so we booked for 3 nights. We traveled up to blackpool from down south as we were planing on visiting my daughter who lives there, We checked in at 4pm paid and got the key, we made our way to the lift AKA (dumb waiter) it is something i had never seen before maybe they purchased it off of Noah when he scrapped his ark? We made it to our floor which was impressive as the lift didnt look safe at all, finally found our room opened the door and it stunk of well like someone had used the toilet and not flushed it, the smell was very strong, we worked it out to be the drains as the toilet was clear. The room is extreamly dated, there was bits of paper and a used toothpick with food still on it on the floor so it hadnt been cleaned. The room had only one mains socket and had a 4 way adapter plugged into it next to the kettle (dangerous) the wall behind the bed was grubby and dirty where there is no headboard fitted, checked out 2 hrs later and to complain with expedia for a refund Thank you) "DONT STAY HERE"
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never got to even stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Booked this hotel, and when we arrived they had sold the hotel to someone else, claiming they had rang me and emailed me, but yet could not find any emails just the confirmation of booking! And no phone calls! The staff did not apologise for what they did! So I won't be booking in the near future!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I never usually write reviews but wanted to warn people DO NOT STAY HERE. Dirty hotel, unprofessional, it's a shambles. Never stayed in one like it before
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely view

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Bed needs a new mattress but apart from that it was nice for one night