Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

exactly as stated

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Great place exacted as stated. Simple easy and in great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Friendly hotel , great location

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Great hotel , friendly staff/owners who make sure you are comfortable and your needs catered for. Warm, clean room with good facilities. Breakfasts are great too. Good location not far from the tower. Long stay car park also nearby. Would definitely return here.
1 out of 5
by Roger

3* are you having a laugh.

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Listed as 3* but I can only dread to think what a 1* would be. This is very basic living. Double room a joke, about 8 foot by 6 foot. No drawers. No wardrobe. No chair just one small stool. Described as part en-suite. What a joke as all it has is a wash basin. It is not en-suite. Parking is misleading as Hotels.com described it as 'self parking £6:50'. In UK that sounds like you can park on site but they'll charge £6:50. Rubbish. It has no parking. The nearest car parks are all £14 but demand appeared to be several times capacity. We spent 90 minutes looking for a space and parked nearly 1 mile away so access is dreadful. Checkout is also early at 10am and breakfast is only available in a tight 30 minute window. Not very accommodating for what was hoped to be a relaxing weekend. Probably the listing was at fault as this might be typical of the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Phillipa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments Roger regarding your recent stay. We shall aim to clarify the points you raised in your review, after your recent stay. You question our 3 star rating indicating you wonder what a one star rating would be and suggest basic living and indeed question the size of the room. At Westbourne House we have 10 different types of room, which you had the choice to book online. I assume that you booked your standard double room with shared bathroom due to this room being the cheapest available. We have luxury full en-suite rooms, part en-suite rooms as well as standard, again, something to suit every budget. With regards to parking. Hotels.com have advertised that “Self Parking” is available from £6.50, indeed it is available for you to park your car yourself and pay £6.50. One would assume that you found our hotel online and perhaps for future reference, wherever your travels may take you, it would be an option to research parking along with the hotel? Westbourne House is centrally located as you are aware, in a seaside resort with double lines outside. We ourselves purchase monthly parking permits for the car park that you used during your stay. You further talk about spending time to park and how far away you actually parked. We are not too sure what we can with regards to demand for parking spaces during a very busy Half Term weekend, Illuminations, Dance festivals etc With regards to check out and our breakfast times, again, your booking confirmation would have indicated these before you booked and also confirmed with the confirmation that we personally sent you and further confirmed with you at check in. Again not sure what we can do further? At time of booking you had an option to choose breakfast (which you did) and also the option was there to request later check out. Again also available at check in. Presumably as you chose one of our cheaper rooms and did not opt for a later check out on arrival, we can only assume this didn’t fall within your budget for your relaxing weekend. We are saddened that some things in this review of our hotel actually do not relate to the hotel, ie. Parking and demand for parking during peak hours. The two of us have operated our hotel for 5 years now and find that being able to seat and serve 24 guests 9.00 – 9.30am allows guests time to consume and prepare for check out at 10am. This then allows us to have all the rooms fully replenished and cleaned ready for arrivals at 2pm, like your room was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Perfect

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: It was modern and clean with a well stocked bar and friendly owners.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Right next to Coral Island and the main shopping centre. The tram stops to go to the pleasure beach are no more than a 5minute walk.
Great B&B. Would definitely stay again. Very welcoming when we first arrived. Room was very clean and modern. Bar was extremely well stocked with everything you could wish for. Their cocktails were fabulous (the first time I've ever had a sparkler in my drink!). Really friendly owners. Great location - right in the middle of everything, with tram stops nearby. Breakfast was fresh and well cooked.
5 out of 5
by David

Excellent hosts

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hosts and spotlessly clean. Great location and have stayed here several times and will again.
5 out of 5
by catherine

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and comfortable.The staff very welcoming and friendly.We will be staying here again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Nice clean hotel close to town only let down is the parking as there is none
5 out of 5
by George

Spot On!

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Brilliant, The owner was very very helpful and he hotel its self was perfect very clean and in perfect location. New Pillows needed but perfect everywhere else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wont stay here again!

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Not impressed with the hotel. Paid for ensuite but we were given 'partial ensuite'. No hot water in the morning therefore unable to take a shower as the shower was not an electric shower and relied on there being hot water. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room, two tea bags, two coffee sachets and a notice saying if you require more you have to buy them. On the plus side the bed was comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback