Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place the rooms need air conditioning

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: the house the grounds everything great place
Cons: air conditioning in rooms
Location: good resturants and has about everything you need we didnt go very much
loved it one of the best places ever stayed the rooms need ac other than that perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Wonderful bed and breakfast

Posted Dec 26, 2015
We spent 2 nights in the McGill room at Rockwood Manor. The room was very comfortable. I enjoyed reading the McGill family story. The breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay there again. I wish I had discovered Rockwood much earlier as my nephew was in the Corps at Va Tech. We made several trips to Blacksburg staying in hotels. Rockwood made our last trip a much more memorable experience. I wish my entire family had stayed there with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: The best part of our stay were the conversations my wife and I had with Sara, the gracious and dear owner of Rockwood Manor.
Location: Wineries, varied restaurants, picnic along the blue ridge parkway, visit Virginia Tech., go hiking or biking, antique exploring at various shops and..
The hotel was located a quiet country setting surrounded by charming, well maintained grounds. The hotel interior and exterior was memorable in it's architecture and adherence to period details. The rooms were inviting, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was at 9:00 AM and no one left the table hungry. The best part of our stay were the conversations my wife and I had with Sara the gracious owner of Rockwood Manor. Sara conveyed a wealth of information about her family lineage and explained to us what life used to be like growing up at Rockwood Manor.The short time we stayed at Rockwood Manor will leave a dear memory that will last a life time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

B&B with the atmosphere of a time gone by !

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Loved talking with the inn keeper at breakfast ! Charming!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly stay with history and comfort

Posted Jul 20, 2015
The staff and owners are friendly and very welcoming. the rooms are clean and updated. Lots of love and effort is spent to make this b&b a place to revisit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful host

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: This inn and its property are just beautiful. The owners are warm and wonderful people
Cons: Nothing. Don't change a thing
I needed to check into my room early and the owner could not have been more accommodating. He even offered to move me to a bigger room at no additional charge. He gave me a tour of the home and filled me in on its history. This inn and its property are just beautiful. Wow, what can I say other than I cannot wait to go back and visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely house, comfortable room, awesome breakfast!

Posted Aug 26, 2013
This B&B always makes me wish I had more time to just hang out and enjoy the porch! Rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is wonderful. I'm already planning my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edward from Greensboro NC

Snow covered beauty

Posted Feb 14, 2013
Pros: The house itself is the main attraction, a historic and beautifull home
Cons: Nothing, loved the visit
Location: Set on 60 acres (farm) and just lovely
We arrived in the evening during the middle of the week and our host was waiting for us. We received a "just right" tour of the Manor and was told to enjoy exploring that evening. Our room was comfortable and the antique bed was ideal. This is an old Manor, dating back to the late 1800's so one has to expect that the owners had to retrofit carefully, seeking to provide modern convienence without disturbing the historical nature of the home, I think they struck an excellent balance. The home is beautifull as are the grounds. It snowed the night were were there and woke up to a fantastic covering of white, felt we had taken a trip back in time. The owner cleaned off out car that morning in case we didn't have a snow scrapper, then fixed us a plentiful and tasty breakfast, the dining room is my favorite part of the house. I will be going back anytime I am in the area