Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Bryn Meadows a Guests point of view

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Very well situated with good views, and the staff were very welcoming.
Cons: The plates need to be warmed, and the bacon fully cooked, liked the sausages were.
Location: The Hotel is very well situated with good views and car parking facilities, especially if you have a medium length car. Good road and rail network.
We asked to be moved to another room as there was unacceptable noise above us, as it was situated below the Gym. Regarding the self service breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday, because there was no plate warming facility, by the time you sat down to eat your egg and the bacon (which was not fully cooked by the way) it was not very warm at all. It was acceptable on the Friday, as we had waitress service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Short Stay

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Our son was playing vs England at Ystrad Mynach so we needed somewhere handy to stay and this was fine. There was a wedding on so it was quite busy and we had one very noisy person close to us at dinner but we moved and all was fine, food good, staff all very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Hello My husband and I visited you for one night. We thought the bed was extremely comfortable but there was no heating : ( I put the heating on up to 28 degrees and it was just blowing out cold air for ages had to turn it off in the end and get the extra blanket out of the cupboard to help keep us warm. Breakfast was lovely and the swimming pool facilities were very relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Gary

A relaxing break.

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
My partner and myself had a relaxing time, we enjoyed the pool, Jacuzzi etc during the afternoon, we then sat down in the evening in the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely meal. The view although dark out was great of the lights in the valley. The room we had was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast which was buffet style and in the restaurant was very good, it had a lot to offer all tastes and was very plentiful. We will look to come back and hope to try the golf course next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel definitely looks tired needs re-furbing. The Spa had half of it's light bulbs out for example and tiles missing, there was a TV in our bathroom that didn't work, so either replace or remove it. No knives with side plates for evening meal, no spoons for sauces either, no music or atmosphere in restaurant morning or evening. It sounds petty but the attention to detail was really lacking even though the staff were very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Expected a bit more from a 4* hotel. Especially from the staff. In middle of night had go outside my room cause there were people shouting. We could hear people talking almost like if they were inside our room. Children running and knocking at the door. Every morning no one from reception asked how has it been our stay if was everything alright. Even from the restaurant. Maybe I created false expectations but I couldnt expect less from a 4* hotel. Also our room was a bit dusty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Very disappointed.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: Being put in a disabled room when it wasn't requested or needed. Poor service. the main dinning area under renovation with no prior notice
Location: Nothing to do. Nearest place to go is Cardiff 40 mins away.
On arrival we were greated by a friendly member of staff. All seemed well and I am sad to say that is where it ended. We were then to be told that the dinning area which boasted the best and only view was going to be closed for renovations. Something that wasn't mentioned when booking. Given our room key we made our way to our room to find we were In a disabled room, again something I didn't book or require, the second and final night we were moved into another room which wasn't disabled and overlooked the generators and kept us awake. Trying to make the best of what was seeming a bad situation we decided to get our selves a coffee in the dinning area before renovations started that night, not only did it take 15 mins to arrive it was poor quality and the table was sticky. I read a lot of reviews about This Hotel prior to booking and read good reviews, where people said There was a lovely village near by with plenty to do. I am unsure where these people went and what there verison of plenty to do is, but needles to say there was nothing to do. I also read that it was table service in the hotel. My partner and I tried to get a coffee in the make shift dinning area and were served coffee that seemed to have off milk in it and there was also dirty wine glasses on the table and dirty floors. This make shift dinning area was meant To be manned and you taken to a table which never happened. I have to say we were bitterly disappointed and will never return here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Took 4 month baby. Travel cot provided. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with accommodating us. Food in the restaurant was very tasty! Views are beautiful. Only thing is the heating is very noisy in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed that the CP82 post code had taken me to a farm in the middle of nowhere and when I mentioned it to the reception who told me there is a different post code for the sat nav which also takes you to a farm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice outlook; a bit impractical...

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Not into the gold scene, but was into staying at a quiet place. This was it. The hotel is on a hill away from the centre of town. Nice building. I had a Jr Suite, which was a decent size, but looked more like the standard US room with a sofa. Bathroom was well laid out and spacious. Because this is an older building, no elevators. Lots of stairs, which is a bit inconvenient with bulky luggage. The benefit of having a Jr. Suite is location as you can directly walk onto the patio by the course. The problem is that the drapes were either open or closed. You had to be dressed at all times as anyone could see you. A bit impractical, but otherwise OK. Nice restaurant surroundings. Breakfast looked OK, but the poached egg was more boiled than anything else. Defeats the purpose. Restaurant staff was a bit oblivious as well. I ended up just seating myself. Gym is great. Very large with a wide selection of equipment. That was the highlight of the stay.